Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Don't Forget the Research Guides
Many of the subject specific research guides created by the reference librarians will include encyclopedias that can be of help to you and your research. And of course you can always Ask a Librarian if you need any additional help.
Search the Library Catalog
We still have encyclopedias that may only be available in print. You can search for these and other online encyclopedias in our library catalog. Use the Advanced Search and combine your topic with the term encyclopedias. For example:
encyclopedias and metals
encyclopedias and architecture
encyclopedias and psychology
Online General Encyclopedias
Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
Carnegie Mellon users only. Contains articles accompanied by colorful photographs, diagrams, maps, and flags. Comprehensive coverage on a variety of subjects including, arts, business, geography, history, literature, philosophy, politics, pop culture, science, sports, and more.
Carnegie Mellon users only. Provides authoritative factual information about our world in its many guises - physical, historical, geographical, political, scientific, religious, and cultural
Dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent.
Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather guide
Carngie Mellon users only. Provides an authoritative insight into the worlds of science & technology, history, geography, politics, and the arts.
Carngie Mellon users only. Over 26,000 entries cover the world spectrum of human knowledge, including science and technology, countries of the world, space, natural history, medicine, politics, sport, people, literature, art and history.
Philip's Encyclopedia 2008
Carnegie Mellon users only. An A-Z Encyclopedia of fully cross-referenced entries covering science and technology, the arts, history, geography, current affairs, religion, sports, and popular culture.
World News Digest
Carenige Mellon users only. Presents the full-text of the Facts on File World News Digest since 1940, plus a live newsfeed from Reuters® and thousands of in-depth features, images, charts, and primary documents. It is a permanent record of the essential facts of the news as reported in the major newspapers and news magazines of the U.S., Canada, Britain, Australia, and elsewhere in the world.
Online Subject Specific Encyclopedias
The McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology on the web, provides full access to articles, dictionary terms, and hundreds of research updates in all areas of science and technology.
CQ Press Library
Search or browse resources on the American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. Database Guide
Encyclopedias and dictionaries on a wide variety of subjects.
Comprehensive research tool dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent.
Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology
Articles focus on functional phenomena, structural phenomena, fundamental core theory, structural materials, polymers and materials chemistry, functional materials.
Encyclopedia of Medical Devices and Instrumentation
Describes the branches of medicine and how technology assists each of them concentrating on what is currently useful or is likely to be useful in future.
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology
Research articles on polymers, plastics, fibers, biomaterials, elastomers, and polymerization processes.
Gale Encyclopedia of Science
Covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Descriptions of chemical substances, including their properties, manufacturing, and uses fundamental to industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering.
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
Overviews of all economic topics by eminent economists - a classic source.
Oxford Art Online
An illustrated, encyclopedic work containing 45,000 articles with bibliographies, written by more than 6,800 international scholars on all aspects of the visual arts from prehistory to the present day.
Oxford Music Online
Includes The New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002), The Oxford Companion to Music (2002) and The Oxford Dictionary of Music (2006).
Oxford Reference Online
Over 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works.
Content includes reference works, books, professional development titles and more. Search and browse over 10,000 items, video, book and reference titles within the Social Sciences.
, General Topics
, Information Systems
, Language & Linguistics
, Public Policy
, Social & Decision Sciences
Other Reference Service Points