CMU LibGuides: Reference Shelf: Biography

Full Text Databases

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
ca. 1980-present. Full text. Use the "Advanced Search" to select the "By Document Type" of Biography, Obituary or Brief Biography when searching for your person.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
ca. 1980-present. Full text. Use the "Advanced Search" to select the "By Document Type" of Biography, Obituary or Brief Biography when searching for your person.

Other Subject Guides

Artist Biographies
Resources to find biographical information on artists of all periods, etc.
Drama: Biographical Dictionaries
Resources for finding biographies of actors, etc.
History: Biographical Resources
Resources for finding biographical information in all areas of history.

Print Resources

All reference areas have print resources for biographical information. You can also Ask A Librarian and the reference librarians will be happy to help you.

American National Biography. 24 vols + supps.
HUNT REF-1 CT213 .A68 1999

Notable Scientists from 1900 to the Present. 5 vols
E&S LIBRARY STACKS Q141 .N728 2001

To find biographical materials in the library catalog, use the Advanced Search and on the words or phrase line type biography and the person or group of people for whom you need biographical information. For example:
   biography and historians
   biography and architects
   biography and obama

Online Resources for Biographical Information

American Men and Women of Science: A Biographical Directory of Today's Leaders in Physical, Biological and Related Sciences
Biographies of current scientists, engineers and inventors.
Biographical Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
Illuminates the lives of the most influential and controversial figures in the Middle East and North Africa who came to prominence during the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.
Biographies (from Credo Reference)
Full text. Search (collectively or individually) or browse through over 40 biographical reference titles.
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.

Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new window
Covers authors in the broadest sense, suppling biographical and bibliographical information and references on over 120,000 American and international authors.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and dictionaries on a wide variety of subjects.
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
The essays outline the lives and careers of authors from all eras and genres and summarize the critical response to their work.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. For information on Executives, select Business from the Menu, then Company Dossier, then click on the Executive tab.
Leadership Connect (formerly Leadership Library) This link opens in a new window
Provides date of birth, home city, current memberships and affiliations, as well as career highlights for people working in public and private sectors, as well as business, government and non-profit organizations' information.
Marquis Who's Who This link opens in a new window
Access to current biographies of all individuals who appeared in any one of the following Marquis print titles since 1985: Who’s Who in AmericaWho’s Who in the EastWho’s Who in the World, etc.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Access and search the vast content of Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources in one location.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
An illustrated collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location, such as Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, etc.

Need Help? Contact Us!

If you have any questions or need additional help, please fill out the following form and a librarian will be in contact with you!

Library Services and Research Help Form

Other Reference Service Points

Arts
Hunt Library-Fourth Floor
412-268-7272
Arts Reference

Engineering & Science Library
Wean Hall-Fourth floor
412-268-2427
Science and Engineering Reference

Mellon Institute Library
Mellon Institute
412-268-7384
Science and Engineering Reference

University Archives
Hunt Library-Second Floor
412-268-5021
University Archives