CMU LibGuides: Reference Shelf: General/Interdisciplinary Databases

Other Databases

In addition to interdisciplinary databases, the libraries offer subject specific databases. Below are ways to find databases in your subject areas. There is also an list of all the databases offered by the University Libraries in the Databases A-Z list.

Databases by Subject, Type or Vendor
Use the pull down menus to limit the databases to a particular topic, type, or vendor.
Research Guides
Created by librarians, the guides have links to the best databases for a particular topic.

Need Help Selecting or Using a Database?

Sometimes it can be difficult to know the best database to use for your topic. Or you feel you're in the best database, but not yet finding the best articles on your topic. Reference librarians can help identify the right database, the right keywords, and the right syntax to use for your search. Don't hesitate to Ask a Librarian for help with these or any other question. The research guides can also help you identify relevant databases.

General/Interdisciplinary Databases

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
ca. 1980-present. Articles from academic journals in all disciplines. Articles also have an option to "Listen" to the article.
ArticleFirst This link opens in a new window
1990-present. Indexes more than 12,500 journals in all areas, including humanities, social sciences, science, medicine, and technology. You can display which libraries have particular journals, and some citations are linked to full-text.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
ca. 1980-present. One-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of subject areas. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Articles also have a "Listen" option.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, international, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
ca. 1980-present. Offers a variety of databases on many subjects. Click on "Databases selected" to limit database choices. Many databases are totally full text or offer full text options.

Need Help? Contact Us!

If you have any questions or need additional help, please fill out the following form and a librarian will be in contact with you!

Library Services and Research Help Form

Other Reference Service Points

Arts
Hunt Library-Fourth Floor
412-268-7272
Arts Reference

Engineering & Science Library
Wean Hall-Fourth floor
412-268-2427
Science and Engineering Reference

Mellon Institute Library
Mellon Institute
412-268-7384
Science and Engineering Reference

University Archives
Hunt Library-Second Floor
412-268-5021
University Archives