Pittsburgh History: Local Government Documents

CARNEGIE LIBRARY OF PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA DEPARTMENT MICROFORM r FILM P-71
Covers minutes of meetings of the Allegheny City Common and Select Councils for the years 1840-1907. Original documents available at the Archives and Library, Senator John Heinz Pittsburgh Regional History Center MSS #205.

Documents, reports, court records, etc.

PA: County of Allegheny, Office of Records Administration, [1994?]
HUNT MFILM-3 974.885 N285

CARNEGIE LIBRARY OF PITTSBURGH, THE WILLIAM R. OLIVER SPECIAL COLLECTIONS ROOM
A gift from the Board of Public Education to Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh in 1989, the collection is divided into six subgroups: Office of the Board of Public Education (and predecessors), subdistrict school boards, Office of Business Affairs, Office of the Superintendent, and the Pittsburgh Public Schools. Documents include annual reports, publications, clippings, photographs, directories, maps, charts, diagrams and graphs, minute books, financial records, committee and department reports, courses of study, survey commission reports, school histories, and various school records, including enrollment, grade and attendance registers.

For assistance, go to the Reference area on the 2nd floor. All materials will be in their online catalog, which can be keyword searched. Using pittsburgh pa city as the author can be a good start to finding city documents, or you can use other agency or department names.

UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH, ARCHIVES SERVICE CENTER AIS 68:24
The area is now the North Side of the city of Pittsburgh.

All types of legislation from 2000-present.

UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH, HILLMAN LIBRARY, MICROFORMS Thomas Blvd - Archives & Special Collections
487 reels containing the records of various municipalities and counties in Western Pennsylvania. For contents, see Guide to County and Municipal Records on Microfilm in the Pennsylvania State Archives Thomas Blvd - Archives & Special Collections CD3474.P46 1982. Exact dates vary by municipalities and counties, all pre-date 1979.

Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania Dept. (Oakland) - Reference Stack Area PENNA r KFX2151.A6 1938x NONCIRCULATING

2000-present. All types of documents. Seach by keyword, narrow by type of material.

Hillman Library - General Collection
JS13 P69e
1977-1995, 1998-2001

CLP Main (Oakland)- Pennsylvania Dept. Storage Stacks, Reference PENNA r KFX2151.A5x 1997-2001

Barco Law Library General Collection Non-circulating, 3rd floor
1889-1890,1900-1901,1907,1910-1911, 1913-1976
Notes: See locator guide or Reference Librarian.

City code, Home rule charter, zoning, budget (2001-2012), tax forms, laws).

Current legislation and ordinances

CARNEGIE LIBRARY OF PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA DEPARTMENT MICROFORM r FILM P-70
Covers council minutes from boroughs that were later incorporated into the City of Pittsburgh. Beechview Borough Council minutes, 1905-1908. Beltzhoover Borough Council minutes, 1887-1898. Birmingham Borough Council minutes, 1847-1858. Brushton Borough Council minutes, 1890-1894. Carrick Borough Council minutes, 1907-1927. Chartiers Township Commissioners minutes, 1901-1920. East Birmingham Borough Coucil....

Print: 1931, 1936, 1938, 1940, 1942-43, 1945-55.
LIBRARY AND ARCHIVES, SENATOR JOHN HEINZ PITTSBURGH REGIONAL HISTORY CENTER
Print: 1951-1963, 1966, 1968, 1970-1984.
CARNEGIE LIBRARY OF PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA DEPARTMENT r 352 P67r
Print: 1890, 1984, 1898-1900, 1905-1936, 1938-1947, 1950-1956, 1965-1971.
UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH STORAGE
Print: 1960-1984.
UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH GSPIA/ECONOMICS LIBRARY HJ9013 P69d
Continued by Comprehensive Annual Financial Report. (see below).

Pittsburgh, Pa.: The Department, .
Print: 1985-1999.
CARNEGIE LIBRARY OF PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA DEPARTMENT rq HJ9013.P7 D1
Continues Annual Report of the City Controller. (see above).

UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH, ARCHIVES OF INDUSTRIAL SOCIETY AIS 76:18
Council's finance committee minutes, 1907, 1911-1938; North Side street and sewer ledger, 1899-1938 (majority of information covers 1908-1914); real estate owned by the city not used for city purposes, wards 1-6, 15-18, 1937; Bureau of Water's report of appraisal, 1928; Audit of City Controller's Office of Accounts' special report, 1911; correspondence, 1922-1932; insolvencies, Pa. Trust Co., 1930s.

UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH, ARCHIVES OF INDUSTRIAL SOCIETY AIS 71:10
Yearly docket of building permits, monthly reports of building permits issued; record book of new additions; record book of alterations and repairs; complaint (violation) docket; record book of permits for wiring; includes three volumes of building permits (1894-1908) of Allegheny, Pa., before its annexation by the City of Pittsburgh.

Harrisburg, Pa.: Division of Archives and Manuscripts, Bureau of Archives and History, Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission, 1980. Microfilm.
CARNEGIE LIBRARY OF PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA DEPARTMENT MICROFORM r FILM P-79
Covers miscellaneous records of the Pittsburgh Select and Common Councils for the years 1804-1862. Also includes lists of electors and election results for some of these years.

1868-1990. An annual compilation of the proceedings of Pittsburgh City Council, including meeting minutes and legislation. The Municipal Record contains agreements, correspondence, ordinances, resolutions, petitions and remarks from Council members, making it an essential resource for information about Pittsburgh government.

Created by Christopher Briem, University Center for Social and Urban Research, includes a variety of documents dealilng with , City of Pittsburgh, Allegheny County, the Pittsburgh Region, other subregions and general reference documents.

1836-1937. UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH, ARCHIVES OF INDUSTRIAL SOCIETY AIS 69:18
Minute books of school district boards, minute books of school board committees, account books, cash books, attendance reports, high school enrollment record book, immigrant enrollment books for elementary and secondary schools in the Pittsburgh area including Pittsburgh School District records for areas later incorporated into the city.

Archives Service Center AIS 1976:17
The City Planning Commission is responsible for the city's
development, through policy & development review & through administration of the zoning ordinance. During the 1940s and 1950s, the commission devoted its energy to the redevelopment of areas that had been full of vacant or sub-standard housing & factory buildings, & the improvement and construction of major thoroughfares.

Contain the congressional papers of the late Pennsylvanian John Heinz (1938-1991), a Republican member of the U.S. House of Representatives (1971-1976) and the U.S. Senate (1977-1991). The Heinz House of Representatives Papers focus on local and regional issues of importance to Pittsburgh and western Pennsylvania as well as his committee service. The Heinz Senate Papers document his work on national issues, such as health care, retirement, international trade and finance, and the environment.

See epecially the tabs labeld with "Municipal"