CMU LibGuides: Pittsburgh History: Primary Sources

Primary Sources

Many of the libraries and archives listed on the Archives, Libraries, and Museums page have primary sources in Pittsburgh History. This page just highlights some of those collections.

Andrew Carnegie Collection (1863-2001)
The collection contains some of Carnegie's personal papers, many of which pertain to the founding of Carnegie Technical Schools.
Linear Feet: 5.75 Boxes: 7
Annual Reports of Pittsburgh Area Public Companies
Collection is not digitized and must be viewed in the Downtown & Business Library.

Archive Finder This link opens in a new window
Contains information on the collections in archives throughout the United States. To find collections available in Pittsburgh, do a Collection Search and type in pittsburgh in the Repository City space. To limit your search, you can type in the name of an individual, business, organization or a subject term in the All keywords line.

Heinz History Center Detre Library & Archives
Search or browse for collections of the Society, located in the Senator John Heinz Pittsburgh Regional History Center.
Historic Pittsburgh: Finding Aids
Search or browse over 200 guides describing some of the archival and manuscript collections held by the University of Pittsburgh and the Historical Society of Western Pennsylvania.
Penn State Digital Collections
Pittcat
Search for archival collections at the University of Pittsburgh. Once connected to Pittcat, select keyword search. Then, to limit your search to archival materials, click on Set Search Limits. In Item Type select Archive/Manuscript and then click Set Limits. Type in the name of an individual, business, organization or a subject term to find relevant archival collections.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive catalog for locating archival collections in the United States. Under Limit type to mark the box for Archival Materials. A free (accessible to all) version of OCLC for searching for archival material and manuscripts is available at NUCMC: National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections.