The photographs from the Detroit Publishing Company Collection includes over 25,000 glass negatives and transparencies as well as about 300 color photolithograph prints, mostly of the eastern United States. Subjects strongly represented in the collection include city and town views, including streets and architecture; parks and gardens; recreation; and industrial and work scenes
Created by the University of Pittsburgh. Search or browse over 27,000 images from 1810s-2000s visually documenting Pittsburgh from the collections and archives of many local cultural heritage institutions and historical societies. To limit to images, search your topic, then choose images after the search is completed. If you're searching locations, capitalization counts!
From 1930 to 1960, the United States Steel Corporation commissioned photographers around the country to document the inner workings of the company and its subsidiaries as part of a national public relations campaign.
The Pittsburgh Photographic Library is a reference collection. Unique collection of historic images documenting life in the Pittsburgh area. A project of the Allegheny Conference on Community Development, its purpose was to highlight the redevelopment of Pittsburgh in the 1950s. The collection has grown in size and scope since coming to the Carnegie Library in 1960. The PPL now offers over 57,000 photographs featuring important Western Pennsylvania places, significant milestones and extraordinary people. Contact prints, arranged by subject heading, are on file in the Pennsylvania Department located on the second floor of the Main Library in Oakland. Material is available for viewing during regular Library hours. Research assistance by a staff member can be provided upon request or appointment.
Charles "Teenie" Harris (1908–1998) photographed Pittsburgh's African American community from c. 1935 to c. 1975. His archive of nearly 80,000 images is one of the most detailed and intimate records of the black urban experience known today.
Witness to the Fifties: The Pittsburgh Photographic Library, 1950-1953