CMU LibGuides: Pittsburgh History: Pittsburgh Newspapers

Pittsburgh Newspapers

Below are some resources for finding newspapers and newspaper articles on Pittsburgh history. If you need help with any of these resources, or with finding newspapers or newspaper articles, ask a librarian.

For a listing of newspapers published in Pittsburgh, see:

Gregory, Winifred, ed. American Newspapers, 1821-1936; A Union List of Files Available in the United States and Canada. New York: The H.W. Wilson company, 1937.
HUNT REF-1 Z6951 .A498 1967

Carnegie Library
The Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh in Oakland has an excellent collection of Pittsburgh newspapers on microform.
Pittsburgh Clipping Files at Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh
ca. 1900 to present.
This physical collection of newspaper clippings from Pennsylvania newspapers dates from the early 1900s to the present. The files are organized by topic. Major subjects include Pittsburgh neighborhoods, biographies of prominent Pittsburghers, and trends such as development, crime, and the economy.
Google Newspaper Archive
Search or Browse issues of old newspapers. Google has since abandoned this project of digitizing old newspapers, but the ones done are still available, including many from Pittsburgh covering different time periods.

Historical Newspapers: Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-1950 This link opens in a new window
1911-2002.
Search, browse and display the full text of the city editon of the Pittsburgh Courier and the New Pittsburgh Courier. The Pittsburgh Courier was "once the country's most widely circulated black newspaper with a national circulation of almost 200,000." Read more. The national edition of the Pittsburgh Courier is available HUNT MFICHE-3, 1911-1966; MFILM-3, 1966-1994.
Historical Newspapers: Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, 1786-2003 This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette from 1786-2003. For other years, search the library catalog.

Pittsburg Dispatch
1880-1923
From the Library of Congress's Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers website.
to search, use the Advanced Search tab and select newspaper(s) from the list offered along with any other search criteria.
Pittsburgh Catholic
Duquesne University has continuously microfilmed the Pittsburgh Catholic since its inception in 1844. To convert the Pittsburgh Catholic to digital format, Gumberg Library started with volume 1 issue 1 and will continue to digitize the newspaper from the oldest volumes to the newest volumes. Currently, the first 113 years covering from March 16, 1844 through March 7, 1957 are available by browsing or searching the full-text.

Pittsburgh Newspapers (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Search and display article from Pittsburgh newspapers culled from the Access World News database from NewsBank. Includes the Tartan. Exact dates of coverage vary by title, most ca. 2000 - present.
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette This link opens in a new window
1993-present. Major daily newspaper of Pittsburgh, PA. For older issues, search the library catalog.

Pittsburgh Gazette, and Manufacturing and Mercantile Advertiser
v.36, new ser, no.1, June 5, 1820-1825.
HUNT MFILM-3
Continues Pittsburgh Gazette (see above); Continued by Pittsburgh Gazette (see above).

Pittsburgh Post-Gazette Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
Major daily newspaper of Pittsburgh, PA. First-time CMU users must register at: this link. CMU users
see detailed access instructions
Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project This link opens in a new window
Search or browse the full text of Pittsburgh Jewish newspapers. The Jewish Criterion is the first of three newspapers to be digitized in the project. When completed, the digital library will include the Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), the American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962) and the Jewish Chronicle (1962-present).

Pittsburgh Tribune Review
HUNT NEWSPAPR-3
Paper copy kept until microfilm arrives.
Microfilm holdings of the Pittsburgh edition: 2010 to present
Microfilm holdings of the Greensburg edition: 1995-May 2010 filed under Tribune Review. See the separate record under the title "Tribune-review" for more details.
Available Online:
Pittsburgh Tribune Review 2006-present via Proquest.
Note: Paper went all digital December 1, 2016.
Smart Business Pittsburgh
ca. 1994-present.

Local Resources

Pittsburgh & Regional Newspapers - Oakland Campus
Resources at the University of Pittsburgh, Oakland Campus
Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh - Newspapers
The Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh has a comprehensive collection of historic Pittsburgh newspapers. For a list, search their catalog using subject and the terms newspapers pittsburgh.

Pittsburgh History: Pittsburgh Newspapers

What to Know if We Have a Particular Newspaper?

Pittsburgh Newspapers

Local Resources