Drama 54-281 Foundations of Drama II: Historical Resources: Search the Library Catalog

CMU Library Catalog
Find all materials held at the CMU Libraries including citations and/or full-text links to e-books, journal articles, or streaming audio and video media.
and/or check in other local library catalogs

Use the CMU Library Catalog in conjunction with...
WorldCat a database of library holdings all over the U.S. and internationally including Carnegie Mellon. Subject descriptions are typically more detailed and may not be searchable in Cameo. Use search strategies in Worldcat similar to those you use in Cameo

Search Tips

• Try to find a  historical monograph on your topic (a whole book on a person, topic or event) to give you an idea of the research landscape of your topic and to discover historical context and bibliography.
   
• Google Books and Google Scholar
  Use these in conjunction with the CMU Library Catalog and WorldCat to elicit more results for the full text of books and articles. Google Books may not always contain the full content of books in its collection, but sometimes there is substantial textual excerpts to key you into other publications you may not have found using Cameo and WorldCat
   
• If CMU Libraries don't have what you need:
  Ask the Art and Drama Librarian or try Interlibrary Loan
   
• Cite your resources

  Citing Print and Digital Resources (guide)
  Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL)

          
Hunt Library: Arts Guide: Library of Congress Classification
 

Library of Congress Classification (across disciplines)

A -- GENERAL WORKS
B -- PHILOSOPHY. PSYCHOLOGY. RELIGION
C -- AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY
D -- WORLD HISTORY AND HISTORY OF EUROPE, ASIA, AFRICA, AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND, ETC.
E -- HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS
F -- HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS
G -- GEOGRAPHY. ANTHROPOLOGY. RECREATION
H -- SOCIAL SCIENCES
J -- POLITICAL SCIENCE
K -- LAW
L -- EDUCATION
M -- MUSIC AND BOOKS ON MUSIC
N -- FINE ARTS
P -- LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE
Q -- SCIENCE
R -- MEDICINE
S -- AGRICULTURE
T -- TECHNOLOGY
U -- MILITARY SCIENCE
V -- NAVAL SCIENCE
Z -- BIBLIOGRAPHY. LIBRARY SCIENCE. INFORMATION RESOURCES (GENERAL)

Log search terms that you encounter search library catalogs and other databases to form a kind of research map.

Try a number of manageable simple searches.

Look for hotlinks and tables of contents in item records that you find in the CMU Library Catalog and WorldCat that may lead you to other pertinent information, data, topics, people and materials. 
 

OR