Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Drama 54-281 Foundations of Drama II: Historical Resources: Images

Images

CMU Visual Resources Collections
Carefully curated image collections via subscription or the open web

American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library (Library of Congress)
Documents the American History Collection of the Library of Congress. Copyright free images.

Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog 
Thousands of digitized images with catalog records from 54 historic collections. Some images in the collections are not accessible online.

The New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Over 800,000 images digitized from primary and rare print sources in the NYPL collections including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more. Browsable categories include Arts and Literature, Cities and Buildings, Culture and Society, History and Geography, Industry and Technology, Nature and Science, Printing and Graphics and Gallery Collections. Also available, a Flickr photostream.

The New York Public Library/Mid-Manhattan Library Picture Collection Online
A collection of 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923.

 

Over one million high-quality images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.

Life Photo Archive (Google/Life)
1860s-1970s


Life Magazine Archive (CMU database subscription)

November 1936- December 2000


Time/Life Collection (Getty

Time Magazine  Archive
Complete digital version of more than 77 years of the prominent weekly news magazine, dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format in PDF.

Astor Place Riot


Image source: Metropolitan Museum of Art from the ARTSTOR database

Creator: Charles M. Jenckes (American, active New York, late 19th century)
Astor Place Riot, 1849
Watercolor over graphite
1896