Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Drama 54-281 Foundations of Drama II: Historical Resources: Additional Research Databases

Additional Databases

The following databases can also be accessed from the library home page from Databases A-Z.

  • Search as simply as you can. 
  • These databases have a more structured search syntax than the open web... too many keywords can hinder a successful result
  • Link to What is a Scholarly Journal? to review how to distinguish, academic, trade and popular publications.


Proquest
Mega-database that searches many interdisciplinary databases together - journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations; also industry reports.

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance
Cites articles and books with selected access to full-text content relating to all aspects of performance and the theatre; replaces the scholarly print edition of the International Bibliography of Theatre.

Performing Arts Periodical Database
Cites international scholarly and poplular articles on the performing arts, except music. It also cites performing arts articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post. Most records include an abstract in addition to the citation. The retrospective database draws citations from 46 periodicals and dates back to 1864.

JSTOR
Full-text scholarly journals and primary resources

Project Muse
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly journals and books

Literature Resource Center
This database could be a good place to start to get a variety of resources and background information about your play or production, artists, directors etc. Search by content type: biography, multimedia, news, literary criticism, primary sources and literary work, and topic.

MLA International Bibliography
Venerated reference database for finding citations to books, book chapters, periodical articles, and dissertations in all languages for all periods from the Middle Ages to present.

Music Index
Citations of articles about classical and popular music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. Covers 1970-present

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Citations and abstracts for scholarly articles, books, commentaries, conference proceedings, dissertations, festschriften, reviews, internet resources, motion pictures, sound recordings and technical drawings of musical instruments are all covered by RILM. Concert reviews, recording notes, and pedagogical manuals are indexed if they are of scholarly interest. Covers 1967-present.

Full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

 

Broader databases
Academic OneFile
Full-Text articles on all subjects

Google Scholar
Open access scholarly web resources.

General OneFile
Full-text articles on all subjects

ArticleFirst
Citations to scholarly journal articles in all disciplines

Lexis Nexis Academic
International news, law and business information.

Times Digital Archive 1785-1985
London Times articles covering two centuries

Newspapers Guide (Sue Collins, History Librarian)Databases