Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Drama 54-281 Foundations of Drama II: Historical Resources: Secondary Resources

Secondary Resources

Secondary resources are based in commentary, analysis or description outside the time and space frame of the historic person, creation or event...

  • biography, autobiography, newspaper articles, scholarly journal articles, dissertations, historical fiction...
     

Tertiary resources help organize and locate secondary and primary resources

  • bibliography, encyclopedias, dictionaries, historic surveys, timelines/chronologies, yearbooks...

Search Tips:

Seek out critical monographs dedicated to your topic, person or event. It will more quickly put you on your way to understanding the context and research landscape of your topic

Try starting these searches first:for monographs:

Timelines

Timelines are a quick way to get context surrounding a person or an event and for understanding an era.


Examples:

Library of Congress: American Memory Timeline

Oxford Reference Online Timelines

History World Timelines

Great Events from History Series

Empire Online
Click on the Chronology tab. This database covers many types of research resources regarding the rise and fall of Empires from Columbus to the 2nd half of the 20th century.


Grun, Bernard; Stein, The Timetables of History : a Horizontal Linkage of People and Events
HUNT FA-REF-4 D11 .G78 1991

Surveys, Encyclopedias and Biographical Dictionaries

Surveys, Encyclopedias and Biographical Dictionaries can provide concise information on your topic and help you put it in historical context.


Examples:


Nellhaus, Tobin. Theatre Histories: An Introduction. Third edition. London : New York: Routledge, 2016.
HUNT FA-REF PN2101 .T48 2016 and E-book
(earlier print editions also  available)


 


Brockett, Oscar Gross Hildy. History of the Theatre. 9th ed. Boston : Pearson, 2008. 10th ed.
HUNT FA-REF PN2101 .B68 2008
Earlier editions are available in the library.

Cover Image
International Dictionary of Theatre.
Hawkins-Dady, Mark, ed., Leanda Shrimpton, picture ed.
Chicago and London: St. James Press, 1992.
HUNT FA-REF-4 PN2035 .I49 1992
Volume 1 Plays
Detailed information about play publication and production. Includes date of first production, translations and bibliography;critical summary of each play.
Volume 2 Playwrights
Detailed information on life and work; critical summary; bibliography
Volume 3 Actors, Directors and Designers
Detailed information on life and work, critical summary; bibiliography.


Critical Survey of Drama : English Language Series.
Magill, Frank N.   Englewood Cliffs, N.J. : Salem Press, 1985. HUNT REF-1 PR623 .C75 1985 6 volumes. Volume 6 is an index to playwrights covered
Biographical summaries; critical essays examine representative plays and identify themes and characteristics employed by English language dramatists.

Critical Survey of Drama : Foreign Language Series. Englewood Cliffs, N.J. : Salem Press, 1986. Magill, Frank N.
HUNT REF-1 PN1625 .C74 1986. 6 volumes with 1987 supplement
Biographical summaries; critical essays examine representative plays and identify themes and characteristics employed by more than 170 non-English speaking dramatists.
Volume 6 is an index to playwrights covered

Cover Image
Cambridge History of American Theatre 
Wilmeth Don B. and Christopher Bigsby, eds New York; Cambridge: Cambridge University, Press, 1998.
HUNT FA-REF-4 PN2221 .c37 1998 3 volumes
Volume 1: Beginnings to 1870
Volume 2: 1870-1945
Volume 3: Post-World War II-1990s
A contextual survey; each section contains extensive timelines juxtaposing theatre events in America with selected historical/cultural American and worldwide events.

 

Cover Image
Cambridge History of British Theatre
Wilmeth Don B. and Christopher Bigsby, eds.   New York; Cambridge: Cambridge University, Press, 1998.
HUNT FA-REF-4 PN2581 .C36 2004  3 volumes
Volume 1: Origins to 1660
Volume 2: 1660-1895
Volume 3: Since 1985
A contextual survey; each section contains timelines juxtaposing theatre events with political and social events.

 

American National Biography.  John A. Garraty and Mark C. Carnes, eds.  New York: Oxford University Press..
HUNT-REF-1 CT213 .A68 1999 9  24 volumes
Each entry is written by a scholar and containing bibliography.


Also look for specific focused encyclopedias such as


Encyclopedia of South Africa
online
Jacobs, Sean, editor of compilation.; Johnson, Krista, editor of compilation.; Credo Reference (Firm), distributor.;

Databases

 

1955-present. A comprehensive database of journal articles citations and abstracts, book citations, and dissertations relating to the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Also has a non-US history counterpart, Historical Abstracts. You can also search America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts simultaneously.

This link opens in a new window

 
 
 

Theses and Dissertations

Examples:

Proquest Dissertations and Theses Global
Dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present, with full text for most added since 1997.

Dissertations and Theses @ Carnegie Mellon
1920-present. Full text of some dissertations may be available rom 1997-present.

American Doctoral Dissertations, 1933-1955
100,000 dissertations from 1933 through 1955 accepted by U.S. universities during that period of time.

Quick Reference


Credo Reference
Online encyclopedias and dictionaries for the arts, literature and across disciplines.

Oxford Reference Online
Encyclopedias and dictionaries across all disciplines