CMU LibGuides: Economics Research: Home

This Guide

presents databases and other places to conduct research in economics. See red tabs above for library services for researchers.

Use the library catalog to find related books. Change the drop down to "Subject," type in:

Example:

The Clash of Economic Ideas by Lawrence H. White
Call Number: HB87 .W45 2012
Publication Date: 2012

A sample of journals that we have:

EconLit This link opens in a new window
the primary resource for locating economics articles, books and reports; when full text is not there, use the “Get It” feature to find it. Online version of the Journal of Economic Literature.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Covers all fields - articles, theses, books, and unpublished papers from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and scholarly web sites.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
cross-disciplinary database of 3500 journals for academic research
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
historical collections of important academic journals, including those in economics, finance, marketing, operations research, statistics and management

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
working papers and datasets from the nation's leading nonprofit economic research organization
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
early research results through working papers and forthcoming papers in either abstract or full-text format
Research Papers in Economics (REPEC)
international database of working papers, journal articles and software components
Fed in Print
economic research published by analysts at Federal Reserve banks
Berkeley Electronic Press
articles in the areas of macroeconomics, theoretical economics, and economic analysis and policy

World DataBank This link opens in a new window
from the World Bank - datasets for 700+ development indicators, in areas such as finance, communications, the environment, education, labor, health, and economics, for 208 countries and 18 country groups, from 1960 to the present
International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
Includes this and all other databases from the International Monetary fund. Time series data used in economic analysis.

Compustat, CRSP, and More
vast quantities of data on company financials, securities prices, and options, available through the Wharton Research Data Service.

ICPSR This link opens in a new window
social science data for research and instruction, including historical time series from International Monetary Fund, World Bank, Census Bureau, Federal Reserve, and many more
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Easy to find statistics on all topics, primarily US. Database Guide

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
datasets and links from the National Bureau of Economic Research, the nation's leading nonprofit economic research organization
U.S. Census Bureau
official US Government site for demographics and business statistics
Consumer Expenditure Survey
official US Government site for demographics and business statistics
Bureau of Labor Statistics
data on employment, wages, productivity, occupations, prices, etc.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
national, international, regional, and industry accounts measures, such as GDP, government expenditures, balance of payments, etc. Federal Reserve Economic Database
FRED - Economic Data from the Federal Reserve
816,000 economic data time series from 107 national, international, public, and private sources, along with tools for interaction, display, and dissemination.

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics This link opens in a new window
the classic source in 8 volumes online.

Concise Encyclopedia of Economics
articles on all basic aspects of economics by over 150 top economists, with over 80 biographies of famous economists, and many tables and charts illustrating economics in action.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and dictionaries on a wide variety of subjects.

Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
will help design research projects, identify methods, conduct research, and write up findings.

Discover who has cited whom, do literature reviews, etc.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Academic database covering peer-reviewed journals, book series, and conference proceedings - includes scientific, medical, technical and social science topics, with emphasis on citation analysis. Scival feature requires registration but is free to CMU affiliates.

Google Scholar Citations
Google enters the citation game with customary brilliance