CMU LibGuides: Government Information and Data: International Government Organizations

International Organizations

Northwestern University Library IGO list
For a comprehensive list of intergovernmental organizations throughout the world, see this guide maintained by the Northwestern University Library.
United Nations
International organization founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining international peace and security, developing friendly relations among nations and promoting social progress, better living standards and human rights.
World Bank
The website of the World Bank, an international financial organization that provides loans and develops and administers financial programs. Also collects and provide data via their Open Data portal.
World Health Organization
The leading governing body for global health matters. Part of the United Nations, WHO provides research, statistics and policy recommendations on health around the world.
International Monetary Fund
"The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 189 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world." Website includes access to IMF research and data.

OECD Publications This link opens in a new window
Reports and data on international economics, energy, development, education, environment, employment, patents, R&D, finance, agriculture, industry, science, social expenditures, trade, transportation, etc. from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development.

International Statistics

Country Statistical Yearbooks
This guide from the University of Wisconsin provides a thorough list of links to the statistical yearbooks or similar collection of 154 countries. Yearbooks typically include economic and demographic data and indicators.

Cross-National Time Series Data Archive This link opens in a new window
The Cross-National Time Series Data Archive was originally established to provide access to the longitudinal data from The Statesmen's Yearbook. The Archive now houses annual data from 200 countries dating back to 1815 on a range of topics related to social science research, including topics such as urbanization, transportation, economics and much more.

Demographic and Health Surveys
The DHS programs collects and disseminates on populations, health, HIV and nutrition for over 90 countries.
EU Open Data Portal
The European Union Open Data Portal (EU ODP) provides access to an expanding range of data from the European Union (EU) institutions and other EU bodies."
Global Health Data Exchange
A comprehensive catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data from around the world. Maintained by the Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation at the University of Washington.
Global Health Observatory
The World Health Organization provides this portal to access data and statistics related to issues of global health.
Interational Statistical Agencies
Many statistics are gathered by governments at the country level. This page provides a list of links to statistical agencies around the world.
OECD iLibrary Statistics
Multiple international datasets from the OECD, covering all topics: agriculture, health, economics, patents, R&D, migration, telecommunication, etc., plus all energy industry data from the IEA.
UN Data
This site provides a portal into the wealth of data and statistics collected by the United Nations. Topics covered include health, demography, migration, employment, income, trade and much more.
World DataBank
World Bank datasets for development indicators for all countries in finance, communications, environment, education, labor, health, and economics, current and historical. You can also search their microdata catalog .