CMU LibGuides: Government Information and Data: Government Data & Statistics

Federal Data & Statistics

US Census
This is the home page of the US Census website. From here, you can find quick links to frequently sought after data and statistics, and links to more information about the US Census. The US Census has many data collection program including the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey, the Economic Census, Current Population Survey, Survey of Business Owners and more.
US Census Data Portal
This is the main portal to the data and statistics collected by the US Census Bureau. Includes voluminous demographic data on the U.S. from national to zip code level.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
FRED is a database maintained by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. It contains thousands of economic time series and covers topics including banking, consumer price indexes, exchange rates, interest rates and much more. It includes some international information.
Data.gov
The US government's open data portal. Provides a one-stop location for searching data from across US government agencies and branches.
Population Reference Bureau
PRB provides instant summaries, both graphically and in text, of the demographic features of the U.S. population. Data can be customized by users on such topics as population estimates and projections, race and ethnicity, migration, income and poverty, the elderly population, and more. The data also may be downloaded.

Social Explorer
Visual and numerical presentation of U.S. census data and a wide range of demographic information, 1790 – present. Creates maps and reports at levels from national to block group.

Local and Regional Data

Western PA Regional Data Center
"The Data Center maintains Allegheny County and the City of Pittsburgh’s open data portal, and provides a number of services to data publishers and users. The Data Center also hosts datasets from these and other public sector agencies, academic institutions, and non-profit organizations."
Allegheny County Analytics
Provided by the Allegheny Country Dept of Human Services, this portal provides data sets, publications, visualizations and more to support data analytics for topics related to populations and services in Allegheny County.
Allegheny County GIS Open Data
For spatial data sets related to Allegheny County, including a broad range of topic areas from health and social services to business and the environment.
Open Data Pennsylvania
The state of Pennsylvania's open data portal. Provides access to data at the state and county level across a broad range of topics.

RAND State Statistics
RAND State Statistics includes a collection of more than 200 socioeconomic databases that cover all 50 U.S. states. Databases contain an average of 20 years of data and cover topics including Births, Medicare, Median Household Income, Population by Multi-race/Ethnicity and Age Group, and Local Government Finances.

International Statistics

Country Statistical Yearbooks
This guide from the University of Wisconsin provides a thorough list of links to the statistical yearbooks or similar collection of 154 countries. Yearbooks typically include economic and demographic data and indicators.

Cross-National Time Series Data Archive
The Cross-National Time Series Data Archive was originally established to provide access to the longitudinal data from The Statesmen's Yearbook. The Archive now houses annual data from 200 countries dating back to 1815 on a range of topics related to social science research, including topics such as urbanization, transportation, economics and much more.

Demographic and Health Surveys
The DHS programs collects and disseminates on populations, health, HIV and nutrition for over 90 countries.
EU Open Data Portal
The European Union Open Data Portal (EU ODP) provides access to an expanding range of data from the European Union (EU) institutions and other EU bodies."
Global Health Data Exchange
A comprehensive catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data from around the world. Maintained by the Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation at the University of Washington.
Global Health Observatory
The World Health Organization provides this portal to access data and statistics related to issues of global health.
Interational Statistical Agencies
Many statistics are gathered by governments at the country level. This page provides a list of links to statistical agencies around the world.
OECD iLibrary Statistics
Multiple international datasets from the OECD, covering all topics: agriculture, health, economics, patents, R&D, migration, telecommunication, etc., plus all energy industry data from the IEA.
UN Data
This site provides a portal into the wealth of data and statistics collected by the United Nations. Topics covered include health, demography, migration, employment, income, trade and much more.
World DataBank
World Bank datasets for development indicators for all countries in finance, communications, environment, education, labor, health, and economics, current and historical. You can also search their microdata catalog .