CMU LibGuides: Government Information and Data: Legislative Branch

Congressional Documents

Congress.gov
"Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information." It replaces the long-standing thomas.gov for legislative information.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Congressional materials ca. 1789-present. Full text of hearings, Senate and House documents, the U.S. Serial Set (a collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under directive of the Congress), legislative histories, committee prints, etc. Database Guide
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Legal research database, with numerous libraries covering congressional publications, law publications, treaties, etc.

Legal Information Institute (LII)
The LII is a free online resource provided by Cornell University Law School that offers access to federal and state statutory law. It includes the United States Code (federal statutes) and state statutes from various jurisdictions.

CCH AnswerConnect This link opens in a new window
Laws, regulations, documents and guides to federal, state, and international taxation and estate planning. Click the "Subscribers: Log in here" button link in top right corner of CCH AnswerConnect. After verification, an Anonymous User icon will display.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, international, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works.
U.S. Statutes at Large This link opens in a new window
Official source for the laws and resolutions passed by Congress.