Skip to Main Content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Data Management for Research

FAIR-compliant datasets for LLMs
 
 
 
 
 

Making Your LLM Dataset FAIR

Table of Contents

Introduction

Are you building or working with datasets for Large Language Models (LLMs)? This practical guide will help you implement the FAIR principles—Findability, Accessibility, Interoperability, and Reusability—to create high-quality, ethical LLM training datasets. Following these guidelines will not only improve your research quality but also contribute to the responsible advancement of AI.

"The application of FAIR principles ensures that the data feeding into LLMs is of high quality and organized in a way that maximizes its utility, thereby enhancing the model's performance and reliability."

Why Should You Care About FAIR Principles?

Implementing FAIR principles for your LLM dataset will:

  • Increase research visibility and impact through better discoverability
  • Enable collaboration with other researchers
  • Improve reproducibility of your experiments
  • Enhance ethical considerations by addressing potential biases
  • Save time and resources by making your data reusable
  • Align with funding requirements that increasingly mandate FAIR data practices

Step-by-Step Guide to Creating FAIR LLM Datasets

Step 1: Plan Your Dataset with FAIR in Mind

Before collecting any data:

  • Define clear objectives for your dataset
  • Research existing datasets in your domain to avoid duplication
  • Identify metadata standards relevant to your field
  • Plan for potential biases across dimensions like gender, age, and occupation
  • Determine appropriate repositories for long-term storage

Step 2: Collect and Curate Data

When gathering data for your LLM training dataset:

  • Document all data sources thoroughly
  • Use diverse sources to ensure broad representation
  • Record the time period of data collection
  • Analyze data for reading level (aim for accessibility)
  • Create a data dictionary explaining all fields and values
Pro Tip from Raza et al. (2024): "For data curation, we utilized various feeds and hashtags, including #MediaBias, #SocialJustice, #GenderEquality, #RacialInjustice, #CulturalDiversity, #AgeismAwareness, #ReligiousTolerance, and #EconomicDisparity, to ensure a wide representation of social issues." This approach helped the researchers develop their FAIR-compliant BiasScan dataset with diverse content covering multiple bias dimensions.

Step 3: Annotate and Label Your Dataset

Quality annotations are crucial for LLM training:

  • Develop clear annotation guidelines before starting
  • Train your annotators thoroughly
  • Implement multi-stage review processes
  • Measure inter-annotator agreement (aim for Cohen's Kappa > 0.75)
  • Document the entire annotation process
Research Insight from Gilardi et al. (2023): Research published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences found that "ChatGPT outperforms crowd workers for text-annotation tasks." The BiasScan dataset described by Raza et al. (2024) similarly employed this hybrid approach, using GPT-3.5 for initial screening followed by expert human review, achieving Cohen's Kappa scores above 0.75 for inter-annotator agreement.

Step 4: Format for Interoperability

Format your data to work across different systems and tasks:

  • Use standard formats (JSON, CSV, XML)
  • Structure data for multiple ML tasks (classification, QA, generation)
  • Include proper encoding information
  • Validate against schema standards
  • Provide conversion scripts if necessary
Implementation Tip from Raza et al. (2024): The BiasScan dataset employed specialized formats for different machine learning tasks, including "binary and multi-label classifiers, question answering (QA) system and debiased language generation" formats. As the researchers noted, "This enables researchers to use this data in diverse analytical contexts, facilitating cross-domain research and development." Their approach demonstrates how proper formatting significantly increases dataset utility.

Step 5: Evaluate and Document

Before release:

  • Conduct bias analysis across multiple dimensions
  • Perform quality checks on annotations
  • Test with basic models to verify usability
  • Create comprehensive documentation
  • Generate visual analytics (heatmaps, distributions)

Step 6: Publish and Share

Make your dataset accessible to others:

  • Upload to multiple repositories (Huggingface, Zenodo, Figshare)
  • Assign a DOI (Digital Object Identifier)
  • Apply appropriate licensing (e.g., Creative Commons)
  • Create a dataset landing page with key information
  • Share announcement in relevant communities

Comprehensive FAIR Checklist

Use this practical checklist throughout your LLM dataset creation process to ensure compliance with FAIR principles.

Planning Phase

Findability Planning

  • Define descriptive dataset title and abbreviation
  • Plan metadata schema including authors, dates, version
  • Determine keywords and classification terms
  • Identify persistent identifier strategy (DOI)
  • Select search-friendly repository platforms
Planning Tip from Wilkinson et al. (2016): The original FAIR data principles emphasize that "good data management is not a goal in itself" but rather "the key conduit leading to knowledge discovery and innovation." Start your planning by identifying how your dataset will be discovered and by whom.

Accessibility Planning

  • Define data access protocols and permissions
  • Plan for long-term preservation
  • Determine file formats for maximum accessibility
  • Consider authentication mechanisms if needed
  • Plan API development for programmatic access

Interoperability Planning

  • Select standard data formats for your domain
  • Identify common ML frameworks to support
  • Plan for multiple task formats (classification, QA, etc.)
  • Determine appropriate communication protocols
  • Consider schema standards and ontologies

Reusability Planning

  • Develop licensing strategy (Creative Commons recommended)
  • Plan documentation structure
  • Identify provenance tracking approach
  • Plan version control methodology
  • Consider ethical guidelines and privacy requirements

Data Collection & Curation

Findability Implementation

  • Create rich, descriptive metadata including:
    • Dataset title, description, and purpose
    • Author names and affiliations
    • Date of creation and version number
    • Keywords reflecting scope and content
    • Research domain and applications
  • Document all data sources with:
    • Origin of each data source
    • Collection period (date range)
    • Selection criteria
    • Pre-processing steps
  • Implement standardized data indexing
  • Register for permanent identifier (DOI)

Accessibility Implementation

  • Store dataset in open repositories:
    • Domain-specific repositories (e.g., Huggingface for NLP)
    • General research repositories (Zenodo, Figshare)
    • Institutional repositories if applicable
  • Provide data in multiple formats:
    • CSV for tabular data
    • JSON for structured data
    • XML if required by domain
  • Develop and document access protocols
  • Create backup preservation strategy

Practical Tips for Common Challenges

Limited Resources

Solution: Start small but FAIR

  • Focus on quality metadata even with smaller datasets
  • Use existing tools and platforms rather than building custom solutions
  • Prioritize the most critical FAIR elements for your specific research goals

Detecting and Mitigating Bias

Solution from May et al. (2019) and Raza et al. (2024): Implement a structured approach

  • Create a bias framework covering multiple dimensions (May et al. proposed the SEAT framework for measuring social biases in sentence encoders)
  • Use visualization tools like heatmaps to identify bias patterns (as demonstrated in the BiasScan dataset)
  • Compare your dataset against existing benchmarks
  • Incorporate counterfactual examples to balance representation

Data Privacy Concerns

Solution: Balance openness with protection

  • Anonymize personal information where necessary
  • Apply differential privacy techniques when appropriate
  • Clearly document privacy protection measures
  • Use tiered access models if needed for sensitive data

Technical Complexity

Solution: Leverage existing resources

  • Use established repositories with FAIR support (Huggingface, Zenodo)
  • Adopt standardized formats already common in NLP
  • Utilize metadata generation tools to simplify documentation
  • Join communities of practice for support and advice

Example: A Mini FAIR Dataset Project

LLM Dataset

Here's how a small project might implement FAIR principles:

  1. Define your dataset: "A balanced corpus of news headlines from diverse sources for bias detection in media coverage"
  2. Create rich metadata: 
    Title: Diverse News Headlines Corpus (DNHC)
Description: A balanced collection of 1,000 news headlines from 10 diverse sources
Creator: [Your Name], [Your Institution]
Date Created: [Current Date]
Version: 1.0
Keywords: news media, headlines, bias detection, media analysis
License: CC BY-NC 4.0
  3. Document data collection process:
    • Sources: List of 10 news outlets with varying political leanings
    • Collection period: January-March 2025
    • Method: API access and web scraping (with permissions)
    • Selection criteria: Random sampling within stratified categories
  4. Format for interoperability:
    • Store in CSV and JSON formats
    • Include fields for: headline_text, source, date, political_leaning, topic_category
    • Create formats for classification and token-level tasks
  5. Evaluate and document:
    • Measure distribution across sources, topics, and political leanings
    • Document any identified biases
    • Test with a basic classifier and report performance
  6. Share with FAIR principles:
    • Upload to Huggingface with complete documentation
    • Apply for a DOI through Zenodo
    • Create a GitHub repository with usage examples
    • Share with your research community

Learning From Real-World Examples

The BiasScan dataset described by Raza et al. (2024) successfully implemented FAIR principles for LLM training data. Key lessons from their implementation include:

  • Using a wide variety of data sources enhanced dataset diversity (they employed multiple news feeds and social media hashtags)
  • Implementing both automated (with an LLM) and human review processes improved annotation quality while maintaining efficiency
  • Formatting data for multiple ML tasks significantly increased dataset utility (they created formats for classification, QA, and debiasing tasks)
  • Detailed bias analysis across multiple dimensions helped identify areas for improvement (they created heatmap visualizations)
  • Publishing the dataset with comprehensive documentation under Creative Commons licensing increased adoption
  • Measuring readability using the Gunning Fog Index (mean score of 7.79) ensured content accessibility

Conclusion

Creating FAIR-compliant datasets for LLM training doesn't have to be overwhelming. By following this guide and using the checklist, you can systematically implement FAIR principles in your research projects, contributing to more ethical, efficient, and impactful AI development.

Remember that implementing FAIR principles is an ongoing process. Start with what's feasible for your current project, and continue improving your practices over time. Your efforts will not only enhance your own research but also contribute to the broader academic community's movement toward more responsible and effective AI.

As Raza et al. (2024) conclude: "Our efforts contribute to the responsible advancement of AI, aiming to forge more ethical and efficient AI tools that serve diverse communities."

References

  1. Raza, S., Ghuge, S., Ding, C., Dolatabadi, E., & Pandya, D. (2024). FAIR Enough: Develop and Assess a FAIR-Compliant Dataset for Large Language Model Training? Data Intelligence, 6(2), 559-585. https://doi.org/10.1162/dint_a_00255
  2. Wilkinson, M. D., Dumontier, M., Aalbersberg, I. J., Appleton, G., Axton, M., Baak, A., Blomberg, N., Boiten, J.-W., Silva Santos, L. B., Bourne, P. E., et al. (2016). The FAIR guiding principles for scientific data management and stewardship. Scientific Data, 3(1), 1–9.
  3. Jacobsen, A., Azevedo, R.M., Juty, N., Batista, D., Coles, S., Cornet, R. et al. (2020). FAIR principles: Interpretations and implementation considerations. Data Intelligence, 2(1-2), 10–29. https://doi.org/10.1162/dint_r_00024
  4. Boeckhout, M., Zielhuis, G. A., & Bredenoord, A. L. (2018). The fair guiding principles for data stewardship: fair enough? European Journal of Human Genetics, 26(7), 931–936.
  5. Gilardi, F., Alizadeh, M., & Kubli, M. (2023). ChatGPT outperforms crowd workers for text-annotation tasks. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 120(30), 2305016120.
  6. Wang, Y., Zhong, W., Li, L., Mi, F., Zeng, X., Huang, W., Shang, L., Jiang, X., & Liu, Q. (2023). Aligning large language models with human: A survey. arXiv preprint arXiv:2307.12966.
  7. May, C., Wang, A., Bordia, S., Bowman, S. R., & Rudinger, R. (2019). On measuring social biases in sentence encoders. NAACL HLT 2019, 622–628.
  8. Creative Commons. (2023). Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License. https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/4.0/

FAIR Principles Guide for LLM Dataset Development | Research & Data Services @ CMU Libraries