CMU LibGuides: CMU-Qatar Library: Your Guide to Information Systems

This guide presents a compilation of useful resources for students and researchers in Information Systems. You can also check our main campus research guide for Information Systems. If you have any questions or need support with your research activities, do not hesitate to email us.

Research Databases Available through CMU Libraries

Full text of journal articles, conference proceedings, and reviews published by the Association for Computing Machinery.

Applied Science & Technology Full Text (H. W. Wilson)

A wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.

Thousands of best-selling, top-rated IT, computing, technology and business books by leading authors.

Data Sources Available through CMU Libraries

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of interdisciplinary datasets with customizable mapping, graphing, and report-generating capability. Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference also available for basic retrieval.

EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit) reports in the ProQuest database
Look down the list for the most recent (not in order.) Download the spreadsheet: 368 variables, covering 1980 to the present.
more...less...
Other EIU reports may also be of interest. Find them by going to http://search.proquest.com/publication/43086/citation?accountid=9902 and searching for your country.

International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
(from the IMF) - thousands of data points on international finance, including balance of payments, liquidity, money and banking, exchange rates, interest rates, prices, production, transactions, national accounts, and population. You'll need to register, and then sign in each time, in order to download data.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
data for many countries on: economics, energy, development, education, environment, employment, patents, R&D, finance, governance, agriculture, industry, science, social expenditures, trade, transportation, and more. (IEA datasets not part of subscription.)
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
over 1000 economics datasets covering retail, housing, trade, commodities, banking, energy, industry and other indicators
World DataBank This link opens in a new window
(from the World Bank) - annual country data from 1960. You will first choose your country, then your “series” (choose from 869 variables; expand the categories to see them all) , and then your time frame; ultimately you'll get a spreadsheet that you can download; mapping is also an option.
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) This link opens in a new window
a uniform web interface to current and historical datasets in finance, economics and banking, from multiple sources. Some of those are: Standard & Poor’s Compustat, the Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP,) Mergent, Dow Jones, the Federal Reserve, and the Chicago Board of Options Exchange.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Market, industry, company, and demographic statistics, data-centered reports and dossiers, fully downloadable, various formats, international, easy-to-use.

Includes access to the Consumer Insights (formerly Global Consumer Survey, a resource that offers global consumption and media usage data of consumers. A great market research tool for consumer behavior and interactions with brands. Select the Insights > Explore Consumer Insights within Statista.

Additional Resources for Text and Data Mining

Click here to learn more about Text and Data Mining licenses available to CMU users, or select a resource from the list below.

BMC Central
"... BioMed Central's open access full-text corpus for text mining research."
Elsevier
"Elsevier's API program allows you to integrate content and data from Elsevier products into your own website and applications."
EZID
This resource will have metadata on data sets that have been identified using the EZID tool. EZID (easy-eye-dee) provides an easy way to obtain, describe, and manage long-term identifiers for digital objects.

JSTOR Data for Research
Allows for retrieval of 1,000 records, but permission can be sought for larger data sets.

OECD Data
What it does - Programmatic access to a selection [https://data.oecd.org/searchresults/?hf=20&b=0&r=f/type/datasets/api+access&l=en] of OECD datasets.
How is it accessed - A dataset identifier, a list of dimension item identifiers and some additional parameters need to be supplied in an URL.
Result format - SDMX-JSON.
Registration - Free to register; registration is not necessary but strongly encouraged.
Limitations (record numbers, fields accessible) - 1m data points; not all OECD datasets covered; IEA datasets excluded.
Contact for technical questions - http://stats.oecd.org/FAQAndContact.aspx.

SCOAP3
Carnegie Mellon University is a partner with the Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics (SCOAP3). As a partner, we have access with dedicated tokens and response times.

BMC Central
"... BioMed Central's open access full-text corpus for text mining research."
Elsevier
"Elsevier's API program allows you to integrate content and data from Elsevier products into your own website and applications."
EZID
This resource will have metadata on data sets that have been identified using the EZID tool. EZID (easy-eye-dee) provides an easy way to obtain, describe, and manage long-term identifiers for digital objects.
JSTOR Data for Research
Allows for retrieval of 1,000 records, but permission can be sought for larger data sets.
OECD Data
What it does - Programmatic access to a selection [https://data.oecd.org/searchresults/?hf=20&b=0&r=f/type/datasets/api+access&l=en] of OECD datasets.
How is it accessed - A dataset identifier, a list of dimension item identifiers and some additional parameters need to be supplied in an URL.
Result format - SDMX-JSON.
Registration - Free to register; registration is not necessary but strongly encouraged.
Limitations (record numbers, fields accessible) - 1m data points; not all OECD datasets covered; IEA datasets excluded.
Contact for technical questions - http://stats.oecd.org/FAQAndContact.aspx.
SCOAP3
Carnegie Mellon University is a partner with the Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics (SCOAP3). As a partner, we have access with dedicated tokens and response times.