Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Alma/Primo VE Documentation: Content

Alma/Primo VE Content Sources

Content and records in Alma/ Primo VE come from a number of sources:

  • Institutional MARC21 Records: majority of records that migrated from Symphony to Alma, as well as local records we've added since implementation.
    • Includes records for physical and electronic materials (books, ebooks, journals, scores, audio, video, streaming, databases - we created MARC records for everything).
    • Records that contained a MARC 856 |u link were converted to Alma electronic portfolios in the Physical to Electronic (P2E) process during migration. 
    • Records are indicated with MARC 035 |a 'o1cmu_inst' 
       
  • Alma Community Zone (CZ): Alma's central knowledgebase (CKB) or 'community catalog' where we can activate electronic resources
    • Updates are automatically managed on a weekly basis via the CZ Updates Task List. Common updates include addition/removal of portfolios, linking information, etc
    • Updated weekly  See CKB release notes below 
    • Records are indicated with MARC 035 |a (CKB)
    • 360 Data Extract: This process was completed during migration by Ex Libris. Subscription collections/ packages were activated in Alma based on active resources in 360 Link/ Summon. 

  • Central Discovery Index (CDI): An index that contains millions of records harvested from publishers and aggregators for articles, eBooks, conference proceedings, newspaper articles, images, citation metadata, and abstracts. 
    • Full text in the CDI is indexed and used for discovery - not delivery! The CDI works with Alma to deliver full-text via the link resolver
    • We choose which collections to activate/deactivate in the CDI
    • CDI collections are reflected in Primo VE within 72 hours of activation (48 hours is target timeframe)
       
  • EBSCO API scope: A separate Primo VE search scope for subscription EBSCO content. 
    • See list of EBSCO databases that are searchable
    • Users must be logged into Primo VE to see full results in this scope
    • EBSCO results aren't yielded in other search scopes, Everything, Articles & More, or Books & More 

Content Updates for Alma CKB, Primo Central Discovery Index, and Batch Imports

Loading ...
Loading ...
Loading ...
Loading ...

 

Batch MARC Record Schedule
Collection Source Frequency Record Notes/ Edits
ACLS Humanities eBook OCLC Collection Manager Annually Currently testing how often CZ collection titles are updated
AMS - Contemporary Math Admin portal Annually  
Bloomsbury Collections EBA Admin portal Annually  
Cambridge EBA GOBI FTP + Alma import profile Monthly Expanded content EBA implemented 8/2021. Last complete import 8/2021
Docuseek Sent by provider As licensed  
HistoryMakers OCLC Collection Manager Annually Last import 2/2021
Infobase Films on Demand Sent by provider As licensed  
Kanopy Admin portal Monthly and/or as licensed Smart PDA implemented 7/2021 which might change frequency
Memoirs of the AMS Admin portal Annually  
OverDrive Sent by provider As available License expired Sept 2021; not renewed
Swank Digital Campus Admin portal As licensed  
Taylor & Francis EBA GOBI FTP + Alma import profile Annually Implemented 6/2021