1. What if I don't want to physically part with my records?
That's okay! If you're not ready to transfer your records to the University Archives, there are still opportunities for us to work together to preserve your history. You can also digitize your records and donate their digital versions to the archive.
2. Can I ever get my materials back?
Once the deed of gift is signed, the ownership of the records is transferred to the University Archives, so you won't be able to take them back. You can visit your records in the Archive's reading room by appointment with an Archivist. If you're not ready to part with your physical records, digitizing your materials and donating their digital files is another way of contributing to the archive.
3. Why should I donate materials?
Your CMU experience matters. Donating your records to the University Archives will ensure that your student organization's history is preserved and accessible to future members of your organization's community.
4. How can I trust that my donated records are cared for in a way that is respectful to my community?
If you are considering donating your records and have concerns about how your records will be preserved or how your community will be represented, schedule an appointment with the Processing Archivist for Community Collections. We are committed to preserving a collection that reflects the diverse experiences at CMU. Working with an Archivist as you transfer your records can help us ensure that your records are described and handled in ways that are respectful to your community.
5. How will my materials be used? Who will use them?
After your materials are donated, they are available for use by all University Archives users. Our users include current CMU students, alumni, staff, faculty, and outside researchers (scholars, writers, artists, filmmakers, genealogists, etc.) Outside of the traditional research papers, student organization and student life collections have been used in exhibits (Like, Totally Transformative: CMU in the 1980s; Nuts, Bolts, & Wheels: 100+ Years of Buggy), events (C-MAP/CMARC 55 Years Later; Student Publication Forum); pop-ups (Archival Pop-ups with the Center: A Pop-Up on LGBTQIA2S+ History at CMU); books, (Protesters In Plaid: A Brief History of the Involvement of Carnegie Mellon Activists in Anti-War and Civil Rights Movements, 1915-2005 by Nicholas Stanley Mlakar (DC 2024)), and more!
Materials related to student organizations have been used in class instruction and research projects in the following classes: