You have more knowledge and insight on your or your community's experience at CMU than an outsider. We encourage you to continue working with the Archivists after donating your materials so that your collection is cared for and described in a way that is reflective and respectful of your community.
You may be asked:
The language we use to identify with or describe ourselves is unique to our individual or communal experiences. The meanings of these terms are forever evolving, taking on new meanings, being replaced by more correct language, or by reclaiming previously harmful or offensive terms. The materials you are donating to the University Archives will take on new meanings and context over time when viewed by community members and researchers in the future. By participating in the descriptive process you are helping future Tartans understand the meaning behind your words and your experience.
What to donate:
What NOT to donate:
Items donated will be rehoused in the University Archives and made available to the public. If you are concerned about personal identifying information or other privacy issues, you can discuss this with the Archivist. While some limited restrictions can be placed, the goal of the archive is to make our collections accessible to the public and donated items cannot be permanently restricted.
The University Archives are interested in documenting the history of activism and social movements at CMU. If you've participated in protests, demonstrations, or campaigns we'd love to hear from you.
What we're looking for:
Items donated will be rehoused in the University Archives and made available to the public. If you are concerned about personal identifying information or other privacy issues make sure to discuss this with an Archivist.
*Protest posters can be tricky for the archive to store due to their unique size and materials. Consider submitting a photograph of your sign.