Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Locating Background Material
The resources below can provide succinct overviews of your possible topic. Some might even suggest areas of future work or indicate active research areas. In addition to these databases, consider trying to find a recent scientific review article that is related or closely related to your topic. See the box to the right.
This is a "reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provides seamless access to the world's best-known, most-used collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. AccessEngineering
also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work." AccessEngineering
includes the well-known Schaum's Outline
series of books. Database Guide.
The McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology on the web, provides full access to articles, dictionary terms, and hundreds of research updates in all areas of science and technology.
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology
Compendium of articles on biotechnology, chemistry, computer science, engineering, mathematics, molecular biology, physics and robotics.
Full text interactive reference books and information resources from some of the leading science and engineering reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings. New to Knovel? View this video!
Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia
One of the most comprehensive general scientific references available. Topics include computer science, information science, mathematics, physics, power technology, and a host of other subjects.