Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Important ECE Databases
ACM Digital Library
Full text of journal articles, conference proceedings, and reviews published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
The most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. To limit to Compendex, check the appropriate box at the top.
"Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites." - About Google Scholar
Technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics from IEEE journals and conference proceedings. Also includes all current IEEE standards.
Includes bibliographic citations and indexed abstracts from publications in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering, operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics. To limit to INSPEC, check the appropriate box at the top.
Academic database covering peer-reviewed journals, book series, and conference proceedings - includes scientific, medical, technical and social science topics, with emphasis on citation analysis. Scival feature requires registration but is free to CMU affiliates.
SPIE Digital Library
Contains the world’s largest collection of optics and photonics research with over 400,000 papers from conference proceedings and peer-reviewed journals. Content covers the broadest range of applied optics and photonics science and engineering papers anywhere.
Essential journals, books, and reference works in many fields, primarily science, technology, mathematics, social science, psychology and business.
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
Contains eLectures that cover important research cutting-edge research, providing more analysis and depth than the typical journal article. Subjects range from Computer Science, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Statistics, Biomedical Engineering, and more.
Web of Science
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.