Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Full-Text Articles
Use the Get it @ CMU links wherever you see them!
If you have citations for specific articles, check the Journal Search to see if we subscribe to the journal that contains the article. If the CMU library collection doesn't have what you're looking for, you can request an article scan via Interlibrary Loan.
Reference librarians are here to help you - so please contact us with any questions!
You can borrow items from other libraries if CMU Libraries does not have what you're looking for. ILLiad is our Interlibrary Loan system. Simply go to this link, fill out a registration form if its your first time using the system and then click on a New Request link in the left hand column.
To connect from off-campus, access our resources via the library homepage or via this guide. Alternatively, use the VPN client as described on this page.
If using the VPN to access the library, make sure you are using the Full VPN.
Sign up here for the University Libraries' newsletter for up to date news about workshops, events, new resources, and initiatives.
About this Guide
This guides provides links to databases and other resources to find information related to public policy and management, including scholarly research articles, datasets and statistics, and much more. Note that some of the tabs and links will take you to other more in-depth guides on various topics. Navigate the guide using the tabs above or the following links:
- Finding Scholarly Research: This section provides key databases for finding research in public policy and management. It includes sub-sections with resources in areas such as crime, environmental policy, business and economics, and international relations.
- Policy Analysis: This links to a separate guide to resources for policy analysis research at the local, state and federal levels.
- Government Documents: This links to a separate guide to resources for finding government documents at all levels of governance.
- Data and Statistics: This section provides resources for finding datasets, as well as regional, national and international statistics and election and public opinion data.
From the CMU Library Homepage you can search for materials across the library system including books, music, dissertations, and journal articles.
You can search by keywords, title, author or call number using the Advanced Search feature of the library catalog.
The results page will list CMU holdings and will be sorted by relevance by default. You can sort by date, author, or title using the drop-down menu to the left of the search results.
If the library doesn't have what you're looking for, consider Interlibrary Loan for access to non-CMU holdings.
The Libraries offer many workshops (this semester all online!) from conducting literature reviews to data visualization and management and more. Check out of list of workshop and register the following link: library.cmu.edu/workshops