Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspapers at the Library
You'll find the daily print version of popular newspapers at Hunt Library on the first floor. There is a newspaper reading area straight ahead as you walk in the door of the library. Older papers and other papers received in print can mostly be found on the 3rd floor, near the exit to the stair well.
For more information about newspapers received in print, see this guide.
Access to Wall Street Journal Online
Wall Street Journal (Dow Jones)
Articles in major US business newspaper through the WSJ platform
. Content includes 4 years of rolling backfiles. CMU affiliates must create an initial account using your CMU Andrew email address
. Then you can also download the WSJ app and login there for access too. Historical issues through ProQuest (1851-2006) are here
, and Wall Street Journal Online
articles are here
. Fully searchable full page images from 2008 - current (with a 3-month embargo) are here
. Other editions are also available. Type wall street journal
in the Publication Browse
to see options.
Finding the News
To access individual newspapers or find articles that you come across online, go to the library homepage and click on the eJournals link under the main search box. From here, search for the title of the newspaper. We have current access to most major newspapers through a variety of platforms. For direct links to common newspaper, see the list below. For a more in-depth guide to find news, including historical and international, see the Newspapers Research Guide.
Wall Street Journal
Articles with news on the economy from the Wall Street Journal via the ProQuest Newsstand.
Link to current content of The Economist via the ProQuest platform.
Current access to Barron's Financial Investment news content via ProQuest Newsstand.
Financial news and commentary from the City (London.)
New York Times
Access to current NYT content via ProQuest Newsstand.
Link to current Washington Post content via ProQuest Newsstand.
Current access to the Philadelphia Inquirer via ProQuest Newsstand.
Pittsburgh Business Times Online
Western PA company and business news, plus lists of top local business in every industry.
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette Digital Edition
Major daily newspaper of Pittsburgh, PA. Our access to the digital edition includes the last 30 current issues/days. Most recent issues appear first. Select "Menu" in the upper left and then "Show/Hide Editions List" to get to older issues.
PoliticoPro is a leading source of timely policy news and analysis. It covers 15 overarching industry areas including Agriculture, Budget and Appropriations, Campaigns, Cybersecurity, Defense, Education, eHealth, Employment & Immigration, Energy, Financial Services, Health Care, Tax, Technology, Trade and Transportation. Features include:
- Morning Newsletters on each of the above industry sector homepages that give those interested in specific areas a daily look-ahead as to the key areas driving the day in these sectors. Newsletters are housed on each policy areas homepage. Go to the PoliticoPro Newsletter page to sign up for email alerts.
- Whiteboard news alerts on each policy sector’s homepage that provide a chronological timeline of recent policy news as well as long-form.
- Documents with an intuitive search feature to find relevant and timely primary sources, including Dear Colleague letters, CBO and Congressional Research Service Reports, etc..
- The Calendar provides up to date information about policy events in Washington including Hill hearings, think tanks events
World Politics Review
World Politics Review provides analysis of critical global trends for policymakers, analysts, academics and readers with an interest in international affairs. Written by a network of experts and on-the-ground influencers, WPR content provides comprehensive and detailed perspectives on a wide diversity of issues including defense and security, diplomacy, economics and more.
Users can create free personal accounts allowing them to set up email news alerts, and receive newsletters and updates for different geographical regions or content authors.
The WPR content is also fully searchable via the library’s EBSCOhost platform, allowing advanced searching of the article metadata and content.