Created in 1975, the FEC is designed to disclose campaign finance information; to enforce the limits, prohibitions and other provisions of the election law; and to administer the public funding of Presidential elections. Information includes a citizens' guide to contributions and the law, financial information about candidates, parties, and PACs; and financial reports filed by presidential and house campaigns, parties, and PACs.
Electoral College Box Scores (National Archives and Records Administration)
Presented here are electoral college results for presidential and vice presidential candidates, vote totals, and other information about elections from 1789 until the present.
Pennsylvania Department of State
Information is provided regarding voter registration, campaign finance, and elections in Pennyslvania.
MTSOfan Flickr via Compfight cc
For more about geospatial data, visit the Spatial Data research guide.
Visual and numerical presentation of U.S. census data and a wide range of demographic information, 1790 – present. Creates maps and reports at levels from national to block group.
For information, tools and resources for Text and Data Mining, visit the Text and Data Mining research guide.
The CMU Libraries Data Collaboration Lab (DataCoLAB) connects the research community across disciplinary borders, and facilitates collaborations between data producers and data scientists. The program connects researchers who want more from their datasets with individuals who have data and computer science skills, creating opportunities for people with different technical and disciplinary backgrounds to work together.
Want to learn more or ask questions? Email dataCoLAB@andrew.cmu.edu.
RAND State Statistics includes a collection of more than 200 socioeconomic databases that cover all 50 U.S. states. Databases contain an average of 20 years of data and cover topics including Births, Medicare, Median Household Income, Population by Multi-race/Ethnicity and Age Group, and Local Government Finances.
Visual and numerical presentation of U.S. census data and a wide range of demographic information, 1790 – present. Creates maps and reports at levels from national to block group.
Census State Data Centers
These centers are cooperative ventures between the Census Bureau and state statistical offices. The Pennsylvania site includes much of the data found in the Pennsylvania Abstract and the County Data Books described below.
Pennsylvania State Data Center
Hosted by Penn State, this online resource provide updated fact sheets and demographic statistics for the state of Pennsylvania.
Pennsylvania Abstract 1992-. (Print resource)
Data covers population, housing, marital status, employment and income, education, social services, state and local taxes, crime and law enforcement, and sectors of the economy.
Pennsylvania County Data Book (Print resource)
Hunt Library holds volumes for the six counties that make up the Pittsburgh metropolitan area -- Allegheny, Beaver, Butler, Fayette, Washington, and Westmoreland counties. The spiral-bound data books include information on demographics, transportation, housing, income, and quality of life. Much of this data is available through the Pennsylvania State Data Center web site.
The library offers access to a number of commercial products that aim to facilitate the discovery and use of data from public and private sources.
Market, industry, company, and demographic statistics, data-centered reports and dossiers, fully downloadable, various formats, international, easy-to-use.
Includes access to the Consumer Insights (formerly Global Consumer Survey, a resource that offers global consumption and media usage data of consumers. A great market research tool for consumer behavior and interactions with brands. Select the Insights > Explore Consumer Insights within Statista.
Interdisciplinary datasets with mapping, graphing, and report-generating capability. Includes tons of datasets for business, industry, labor, energy, population, income, health, politics, and more.
Features data series created from more than 50,000 government and non-government datasets, covering popular topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan areas. Database has been retired and statistics are now incorporated into the DataPlanet database. Link redirects there.
Microdata are data for which the statistical units are individual people or objects. These data have not yet been aggregated into statistics about groups, and thus can be downloaded, manipulated, used in statistical models, etc. Below are a few sources for large population and economic microdata sets.
