Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: Chicago Citation Examples

Examples

Chicago Manual of Style Online Home Page

14: Notes Bibliography

Quick Citation Guide

Notes-Bibliography Examples
Books, Articles, Dissertations, Websites
Book chapter in single-author book
Book chapter of an edited book
Book reviews
Concert reviews
Email conversations
Encyclopedia entries
Introductions, prefaces, afterwords, and the like
Liner notes
Musical Recordings
Scores (published)
Theses and dissertations
Video and film recordings
YouTube

Authors
Two or more authors (or editors)

Editors
Editor or translator in addition to author
Editor in place of author

Titles
Translated titles of cited works

Editions
Editions of books other than the first

Place of Publication
When to specify state, province, or country of publication

Publisher
Abbreviations/Omissions in Publisher Names
Copublication
Distributed books
Parent companies, imprints, and such

Date of publication
No date of publication

Music specific rules
Musical Pitches
Opus numbers
Titles of Instrumental Works
Titles of Operas and Songs

General rules
3-em dash in bibliographies
Capitalization of titles of cited works
Centuries
Month and day
Multivolume works
Possessive of names and proper nouns
Quotes within quotes
Quoting an author who quotes someone else
Series titles, numbers, and editors
Several citations in one note
Shortened citations vs. Ibid.
Single quotation marks next to double quotation marks
Spelling out numbers

Purdue Online Writing Lab
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition

Chicago Notes-Bibliography Style Examples for 57-901 Music Research Methods

Book

Footnote:

1 Andrew Palmer, Encounters with British Composers (Woodbridge, Suffolk: Boydell Press, 2015), 395.

Bibliography:

Palmer, Andrew. Encounters with British Composers. Woodbridge, Suffolk: Boydell Press, 2015.
 

Book with Editor or Compiler instead of Author

Footnote:

1 Jan Fielden, ed., Composer’s Letters (London: Marginalia, 1994), 52.

Bibliography:

Fielden, Jan, ed. Composer’s Letters. London: Marginalia, 1994.

 

Translated Book

Footnote:

1 Sergey Prokofiev, Sergey Prokofiev Diaries 1915-1923: Behind the Mask, trans. and ann. Anthony Phillips (Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 2013), 105.

Bibliography:

Prokofiev, Sergey. Sergey Prokofiev Diaries 1915-1923: Behind the Mask. Translated and annotated by Anthony Phillips. Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 2013.
 

Multivolume Books (citing only one volume that you use)

Footnote:

1 Peter Deane Roberts, Modernism in Russian Piano Music: Skriabin, Prokofiev, and Their Russian Contemporaries, vol. 1 (Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1993), 16.

Bibliography:

Roberts, Peter Deane. Modernism in Russian Piano Music: Skriabin, Prokofiev, and Their Russian Contemporaries. Vol. 1. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1993.
 

 

Book Chapter

Footnote:

1 Robert Saxton, “The Orchestral Composer,” in The Cambridge Companion to the Orchestra, ed. Colin Lawson (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2003), 218-19.

Bibliography:

Saxton, Robert. “The Orchestral Composer.” In The Cambridge Companion to the Orchestra, edited by Colin Lawson, 218-38. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2003. 

 

Dissertation

Footnote:

1 Deborah Anne Rifkin, “Tonal Coherence in Prokofiev’s Music: A Study of the Interrelationships of Structure, Motives, and Design” (PhD diss., University of Rochester, Eastman School of Music, 2000), 25, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.

Bibliography:

Rifkin, Deborah Anne. “Tonal Coherence in Prokofiev’s Music: A Study of the Interrelationships of Structure, Motives, and Design.” PhD diss., University of Rochester, Eastman School of Music, 2000. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.

 

Scores

Footnote:

1 Sergey Prokofiev, Symphonie Classique, op. 25 (London: Boosey, 1942), iv.

Bibliography:

Prokofiev, Sergey. Symphonie Classique, op. 25. London: Boosey, 1942.

 

Score with no date of publication

Footnote:

1 Serge Prokofieff, Classical Symphony, op. 25 (New York: Kalmus, n.d.), iii.

Bibliography:

Prokofieff, Serge. Classical Symphony, op. 25. New York: Kalmus, n.d.

 

CD Recording

Footnote:

1 Sergey Prokofiev, Symphony No. 1 in D, op. 25 “Classical, Scottish National Orchestra, Neeme Järvi, Chandos CHAN 8400, 1985, compact disc.

Bibliography:

Prokofiev, Sergey. Symphony No. 1 in D, op. 25 “Classical.” Scottish National Orchestra. Neeme Järvi. Chandos CHAN 8400, 1985, compact disc.

 

LP Recording

No collective title for the recording:

Footnote:

1 Sergey Prokofiev, Classical Symphony, op. 25, Philadelphia Orchestra, Eugene Ormandy, Columbia M31812, 1973, 33 1/3 rpm.

Bibliography:

Prokofiev, Sergey. Classical Symphony, op. 25. Philadelphia Orchestra. Eugene Ormandy. Columbia M31812, 1973, 33 1/3 rpm.

 

Collective Title:

Footnote:

1 Sergey Prokofiev, “Classical Symphony in D Major, op. 25,” in All the Works for Orchestra, 2 vols., Orchestre national de l'ORTF, Paris, Jean Martinon, Vox SVBX 5123-5124, 1972, 33 1/3 rpm.

Bibliography:

Prokofiev, Sergey. “Classical Symphony in D Major, op. 25.” In All the Works for Orchestra. 2 vols. Orchestre national de l'ORTF, Paris. Jean Martinon. Vox SVBX 5123-5124, 1972, 33 1/3 rpm.

 

Naxos Recording

Footnote:

1 Sergey Prokofiev, Symphony No. 1 in D Major, op. 25 “Classical,” New York Philharmonic Orchestra, Leonard Bernstein, Sony Classical 886443112063, 2011, Naxos Music Library.

Bibliography:

Prokofiev, Sergey. Symphony No. 1 in D Major, op. 25 “Classical.” New York Philharmonic Orchestra. Leonard Bernstein. Sony Classical 886443112063, 2011. Naxos Music Library.
 

Liner Notes

Footnote:

1 Noël Goodwin, Symphony No. 1 in D, op. 25 “Classical,” music by Sergey Prokofiev, Scottish National Orchestra, Neeme Järvi,  Chandos CHAN 8400, 1985, liner notes.

Bibliography:

Goodwin, Noël. Symphony No. 1 in D, op. 25 “Classical.” Music by Sergey Prokofiev. Scottish National Orchestra. Neeme Järvi.  Chandos CHAN 8400, 1985. Liner Notes.

 

Journal Article in Printed Format

Footnote:

1 Ûrij Nikolaevič Holopov, “Why Did Prokofiev Write the ‘Classical Symphony’?,” translated by David Fanning, Three Oranges 13 (May 2007): 10.

Bibliography:

Holopov, Ûrij Nikolaevič. “Why Did Prokofiev Write the 'Classical Symphony'?” Translated by David Fanning. Three Oranges 13 (May 2007): 10-13.

 

Journal Article from JSTOR 
Put a comma after the journal title if there is only an issue number and no volume. You can use the database name, the doi (digital object identifier), or the stable URL after the date of access. I will accept any of those.

Footnote:

1 Edward Lockspeiser, "Prokofieff's Seventh Symphony," Tempo, no. 37 (Autumn 1955): 24, JSTOR.

Bibliography:

Lockspeiser, Edward. "Prokofieff's Seventh Symphony." Tempo, no. 37 (Autumn 1955): 24-27. JSTOR.


Footnote:

1 Deborah Rifkin, “A Theory of Motives for Prokofiev’s Music,” Music Theory Spectrum 26, no. 2 (Fall 2004): 272, JSTOR.

Bibliography:

Rifkin, Deborah. “A Theory of Motives for Prokofiev’s Music.” Music Theory Spectrum 26, no. 2 (Fall 2004): 265-290. JSTOR.

 

Newspaper Article in a Database
No need to include the newspaper citation in your bibliography unless a specific article is critical to your argument or frequently cited or both.

Footnote:

1 Jeremy Eichler, “Matching Classical Mozart with ‘Classical’ Prokofiev,” New York Times, August 15, 2003, ProQuest.  
 

Websites

Footnote:

1 Richard Rodda, “Symphony No. 1 in D Major, op. 25, ‘Classical’,” National Symphony Orchestra, The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, program note, accessed September 3, 2015, https://www.kennedy-center.org/artist/composition/4176.

Bibliography:

Rodda, Richard. “Symphony No. 1 in D Major, op. 25, ‘Classical’.” National Symphony Orchestra. The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts. Program Note. Accessed September 3, 2015. https://www.kennedy-center.org/artist/composition/4176.

 

Online Encyclopedia Entry
List the author first if there is one. The first example does not have an author. You don’t need to include an encyclopedia in your Bibliography unless the source is critical to your argument or cited frequently.

Footnote:

1 Encyclopædia Britannica Online, s. v. "passacaglia," accessed September 3, 2015, http://www.britannica.com/art/passacaglia-musical-form-and-dance.

 


Grove Music Online

Footnote:

1 Dorothea Redepenning, "Prokofiev, Sergey," Grove Music Online, Oxford Music Online, Oxford University Press, accessed September 3, 2015.

Bibliography:

Redepenning, Dorothea. "Prokofiev, Sergey." Grove Music OnlineOxford Music Online. Oxford University Press. Accessed September 3, 2015.

 

Oxford Dictionary of Music Online

Footnote:

            1"Prokofiev, Sergey," The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd ed. rev., Oxford Music Online, Oxford University Press, accessed November 19, 2015.

Bibliography:

"Prokofiev, Sergey." The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd ed. rev. Oxford Music Online. Oxford University Press. Accessed November 19, 2015.

 

Oxford Companion to Music Online

Footnote:

            1Geoffrey Norris and David Nice, "Prokofiev, Sergey Sergeyevich," The Oxford Companion to Music, Oxford Music Online, Oxford University Press, accessed November 19, 2015.

Bibliography:

Norris, Geoffrey, and David Nice. "Prokofiev, Sergey Sergeyevich." The Oxford Companion to Music. Oxford Music Online. Oxford University Press. Accessed November 19, 2015.