Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Carnegie Mellon Users Only
The electrothèque web app allows you to listen to selected works culled from the empreintes DIGITALes catalogue and its composers. Founded in 1990, empreintes DIGITALes is considered the reference label in electroacoustics, acousmatics and musique concrète. electrothèque is accessible on mobile devices (iOS, Android, etc.), tablets, on laptops as well as good old desktop computers. The music featured on this site is available for online streaming purposes only. Downloading or saving are not allowed.
DRAM Contains American music represented by the New World Records and CRI label(s), which merged in 2007. From folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and beyond, New World has served composers, artists,
students and the general public since its inception in 1975 with a grant from the Rockefeller Foundation. DRAM also includes more than 4,000 albums' worth of recordings from a distinctive set of 42 independent labels and archives with new content being continuously added.
Digital Concert Hall
Historical and current video performances of the Berlin Philharmonic– live or on-demand. Set up your free account when on campus - can use off campus afterwards.
Offers filmed concerts performed by today's greatest names in classical music, archive movies, inspiring documentaries on performers and composers, educational programs, and master classes.
Met Opera on Demand
Provides unlimited access to more than 450 extraordinary Met performances.
Music Online: American Music (formerly American Music)
Streaming music from Americans of diverse origins and all walks of life, from America's past and present.
Music Online: Classical Music Library (formerly Classical Music Library)
Streaming audio with a supplementary reference database, enabling patrons to listen while simultaneously searching and browsing the Classical reference database. Send-to-mobile functionality.
Naxos Music Library
Streaming recordings for genres such as Classical, Jazz, Blues, Nostalgia, World, Contemporary Instrumental, Chinese, Pop and Rock, Gospel, Spoken Word, and Relaxation. iPhone and Android apps available.
Naxos Music Library Jazz
Streaming music from the artists and collections of Fantasy Records.
Check out our royalty free Studio Cutz CD collection for your next class project. Each CD covers a unique theme, with titles such as "Acoustic Brew" and "Silly Stuff" with 60 second edits, 30 second edits, and short edits (or stingers) of each song.
- British Library Sounds
Listen to a selection from the British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
- CHARM AHRC Research Centre for the History and Analysis of Recorded Music
A partnership in 2004 of Royal Holloway, University of London (host institution) with King's College, London and the University of Sheffield, CHARM's aim was to promote the musicological study of recordings, drawing on a wide range of approaches ranging from computational analysis to business history. AHRC Research Centre for Musical Performance as Creative Practice (CMPCP) was launched in October 2009 as the Phase 2 successor to CHARM focusing on live musical performance and creative music-making.
Aims to create a huge collaborative database of audio snippets, samples, recordings, bleeps, ... released under Creative Commons licenses that allow their reuse.
- National Jukebox (pre-1925)
Historical Recordings from the Library of Congress.