Resource & Discovery Services: Resource & Discovery Services Updates

HL3 Weeding – STACKS-3 and OVRSZQ-3

• The title review of the 22,000 books shelved on HL3 (STACKS-3 and OVRSZQ-3) that began in early August was completed at the end of October.

• The final stats are as follows:

22,023 books on master spreadsheet

DECISIONS:

13,723 = Discard

5,103 = Keep

3,158 = Offsite

29 = Misc. includes pending (1), duplicate (17), N/A (11)

10 = Items without a decision

• Student employees began pulling the Discards on 11/12 and sending them to Better World Books (BWB) for resale. (To date, 240 boxes have been shipped to BWB.)
• As of mid-January, 9,000 books (65% of Discards) removed from STACKS-3. Discards are being sent to BWB.
• HL3 Weeding Project will continue into Spring Semester; goal is to complete weeding of HL3 (Discards and items transferred to Offsite) by end of March. 
• After HL3 weeded, items (journals and books) remaining on shelves will be transferred to HL2 during March and April.    

HL Collections Renovations Task Force

• In December 2024, Project Team (J. Chisnell, K. Heath, and G. Henning) submitted a timeline for weeding of HL floors.
• Based upon the number of items located on each floor and the amount of planning/preparation time                          available, the Project Team recommended that:

• Summer 2025 be dedicated to renovating HL1 and HL3, and time permitting, renovations may begin           on Frew Street side of HL4.
• Summer 2026 be dedicated to renovating HL4 and HL2.  

• As of the end of December, no final decision made.

Lost/Missing Books

• Lost/Missing report covering “September2024 – November 2024” was uploaded to Google Drive on 12/12/2024 and selectors were notified.
• Report has 45 books on it.
• Selectors asked to review the report by end of January 2025. 

Student Employment for Spring Semester 2025

• Four student employees (Kirsten, Jendy, Yasmin, and Zoe) will be working during Spring Semester.
• In addition to four students, there will be three temporary employees working on HL weeding projects.
• Currently in the process of interviewing temp workers. 

eResources updates

• New guide published by Association of Research Libraries: eResources Licensing Explained: https://berkeley.pressbooks.pub/eresourcelicensingexplained/
• Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall is now available in French
• EBSCO launched the new UI for EBSCOhost on January 7, 2025 - see full details
• EBSCOhost eBook subscription updates effective Jan 2025: https://connect.ebsco.com/s/article/eBook-Subscription-Updates
• JapanKnowledge new content updates
  • Shogakukan Korean-Japanese dictionary (SHOGAKUKAN Inc.)
  • Shogakukan Japanese-Korean dictionary (SHOGAKUKAN Inc.)
  • World Yearbook (KYODO NEWS) [Scheduled to be launched in the summer of 2025]
  • Kosetsu Bukkyogo daijiten (TOKYO SHOSEKI CO., LTD. ) [Scheduled to be launched in the fall of 2025]
  • Removals effective Feb. 28, 2025:
    • Useful Information for Life in Japan in the Heisei Era (JIYUKOKUMINSHA)
    • Pocket Progressive German-Japanese/Japanese-German Dictionary (SHOGAKUKAN Inc.)
    • Pocket Progressive French-Japanese/Japanese-French Dictionary (SHOGAKUKAN Inc.)
    • Pocket Progressive Spanish-Japanese/Japanese-Spanish Dictionary (SHOGAKUKAN Inc.)
    • Pocket Progressive Italian-Japanese/Japanese-Italian Dictionary (SHOGAKUKAN Inc.)
    • Pocket Progressive Korean-Japanese/Japanese-Korean Dictionary (SHOGAKUKAN Inc.)