LibGuides: English: 76-10X Series (First-Year Writing): &lt;3 N Work Self N Writing

Locating Sources

Background Sources: To search for these sources, it's best to look for specific types of sources like encyclopedias, manuals, or even books.

For example, I might try to use Advanced Search to look in our library catalog by looking for:
[subject] contains Gothic.

You can use the other fields to look for any aspect of Writing: bias, subjectivity, belonging, intersectionality, intertextuality, etc.) and combine it with other terms that can be broader or narrower, like Women Writers, LatinX, etc.

Here are some results worth looking at:

Gender, Companionship, and Travel by Floris Meens (Editor); Tom Sintobin (Editor) Over the last couple of decades there has been a strong academic interest in how individuals interact with each other while en route. Yet, even if various studies have informed us about present-day realities of travel companionships, we know little about the influence of gender both on these realities, as well as on the discourse in which these are being narrated. This book aims to establish an agenda for the study of companionship in travel writing by offering a collection of new essays which study texts that belong to the broad category of pre-modern and modern travel literature. Chapters explore the differences and similarities in the ways that women and men in the past chose to describe their experiences with, and/or their ideas about companionship, and specifically reveals the influence of gender norms, conventions, restrictions, and stereotypes. This is the first book which looks at the long-term, interdisciplinary, and genuinely international history of gendered discourses on companionship in travel writing. It will be of interest to scholars and students from a wide variety of disciplines, including cultural and social history, as well as cultural, literary, gender, travel, and tourism studies.
Call Number: Hunt Library, 4th floor. NA440 .S425 2003
ISBN: 9780429507632
Publication Date: 2018-12-07
Gothic Novel, 1790-1830 by Ann B. Tracy
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781848882058
Publication Date: 2015-01-13
Gothic Novelists by Carl Rollyson
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781350119468
Publication Date: 2012-01-01

Also, consider these online reference collections:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and dictionaries on a wide variety of subjects.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Expert introductions to major topics in business, management, finance, economics, and philosophy
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Over 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works.

Exhibit, Argument, & Method Sources:

Similarly, you can use search terms to locate articles and sources on dreams (Subject searches) with various concepts (Keyword searches) or specific aspects (material types such as reports, cases, populations, geographic locations, demographics, etc.).

Here are some of the core databases you can search for information on Technology:

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Articles in academic journals from all disciplines. Database Guide.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
1887-present. American Psychological Association's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, it is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Database Guide. Also see definitions of methodologies.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive resource on the market for communication research and offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History This link opens in a new window
Women's travel accounts of the 19th and 20th centuries.
Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new window
Medieval manuscripts of travelers' accounts between the 13th and 16th centuries.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works, covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods, and all regions of the world.

English: 76-10X Series (First-Year Writing): <3 N Work Self N Writing

Locating Sources

Background Sources: To search for these sources, it's best to look for specific types of sources like encyclopedias, manuals, or even books.

For example, I might try to use Advanced Search to look in our library catalog by looking for:
[subject] contains Gothic.

You can use the other fields to look for any aspect of Writing: bias, subjectivity, belonging, intersectionality, intertextuality, etc.) and combine it with other terms that can be broader or narrower, like Women Writers, LatinX, etc.

Also, consider these online reference collections:

Exhibit, Argument, & Method Sources:

Similarly, you can use search terms to locate articles and sources on dreams (Subject searches) with various concepts (Keyword searches) or specific aspects (material types such as reports, cases, populations, geographic locations, demographics, etc.).

Here are some of the core databases you can search for information on Technology:

Relevant Guides

English: 76-10X Series (First-Year Writing): <3 N Work Self N Writing

Locating Sources

Background Sources: To search for these sources, it's best to look for specific types of sources like encyclopedias, manuals, or even books.

For example, I might try to use Advanced Search to look in our library catalog by looking for: [subject] contains Gothic.

You can use the other fields to look for any aspect of Writing: bias, subjectivity, belonging, intersectionality, intertextuality, etc.) and combine it with other terms that can be broader or narrower, like Women Writers, LatinX, etc.

Also, consider these online reference collections:

Exhibit, Argument, & Method Sources:

Similarly, you can use search terms to locate articles and sources on dreams (Subject searches) with various concepts (Keyword searches) or specific aspects (material types such as reports, cases, populations, geographic locations, demographics, etc.).

Here are some of the core databases you can search for information on Technology:

Relevant Guides

For example, I might try to use Advanced Search to look in our library catalog by looking for:
[subject] contains Gothic.