CMU LibGuides: English: 76-10X Series (First-Year Writing): Selling Self-Care

From the library catalog

Welfare Discipline by Sanford F. Schram Schram takes stock of the new forms of welfare and offers new methods to understand them.
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1592133029
Publication Date: 2006-02-28
Good to Talk? by Deborah Cameron It′s good to talk is one of the great clich[ac]es of our time. The benefits of talk to individuals, families and organizations are proclaimed by pop psychologists, television talk show hosts, and management gurus. The importance of talk is talked about endlessly. `Good to Talk? is an attempt to look critically at what lies behind this upsurge of concern about talk in our workplaces, classrooms and private lives, and it places these developments in historical context and relates their forms to the broader economic and social changes associated with globalization. The book also poses questions about the social and political implications of talking about talking. Is `communication′ the key to solving the problems of modern life? Are the lessons in talking that are offered to us now the ones we most urgently need to learn? Is it time to challenge the prevailing belief about what makes it good to talk?
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781412931557
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Narrative Medicine by Rita Charon Narrative medicine has emerged in response to a commodified health care system that places corporate and bureaucratic concerns over the needs of the patient. Generated from a confluence of sources including humanities and medicine, primary care medicine, narratology, and the study of doctor-patient relationships, narrative medicine is medicine practiced with the competence to recognize, absorb, interpret, and be moved by the stories of illness. By placing events in temporal order, with beginnings, middles, and ends, and by establishing connections among things using metaphor and figural language, narrative medicine helps doctors to recognize patients and diseases, convey knowledge, accompany patients through the ordeals of illness--and according to Rita Charon, can ultimately lead to more humane, ethical, and effective health care.Trained in medicine and in literary studies, Rita Charon is a pioneer of and authority on the emerging field of narrative medicine. In this important and long-awaited book she provides a comprehensive and systematic introduction to the conceptual principles underlying narrative medicine, as well as a practical guide for implementing narrative methods in health care. A true milestone in the field, it will interest general readers, and experts in medicine and humanities, and literary theory.
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780199759859
Publication Date: 2014-09-18

EXHIBIT, ARGUMENT, & METHOD SOURCES

These sources are more likely to be journals, specialized books, databases that contain data sets. To find them, you need to think about the type of information you need and ask yourself:

Who might publish that information? For example, datasets on conflict are typically collected by organizations that have an interest in collecting this information: for example, the united nations, international organizations, gallop reports, etc.
What type of exhibit? Are you looking at historical data? current data? How long of a set? Are you needing surveys?
Where would this data be published? reports (by for-profit), gallop surveys (by governments or a non-profit), statistical publications (typically by organizations)? Original research (typically in journal articles)?

Core Databases

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Articles in academic journals from all disciplines. Database Guide.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive resource on the market for communication research and offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
Derwent Innovations Index This link opens in a new window
On the Web of Science, facilitates rapid, precise patent searching, letting you conduct patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering. Find Derwent on the Web of Science home page from the top drop-down menu next to Search.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.

Relevant Guides

Citizen Science
by Melanie Gainey Last Updated Jan 9, 2024 589 views this year
History of Technology and Science: Primary Sources
by Charlotte Kiger Price Last Updated Sep 11, 2024 238 views this year

English: 76-10X Series (First-Year Writing): Selling Self-Care

BACKGROUND SOURCES

To find background sources, the best strategy is to look at encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and books. This strategy applies to library catalogs and databases that contain "reference collections".

Here is how you can locate these materials:

First and foremost, build a list of related words (synonyms vs antonyms; broad vs narrow terms). For example, Self-Care (personal care, self-help, welfare, mental health, etc.)

Always use Advanced Search so you can build a specific strategy, using AND, OR, NOT, and specific fields:

For example: [Subject] contains self-help AND [Subject] contains literature

OR [Subject] contains self-care AND [Any field] contains poverty

Here are some sample results from our library catalog, based on the strategies above:

From the library catalog

EXHIBIT, ARGUMENT, & METHOD SOURCES

These sources are more likely to be journals, specialized books, databases that contain data sets. To find them, you need to think about the type of information you need and ask yourself:

Who might publish that information? For example, datasets on conflict are typically collected by organizations that have an interest in collecting this information: for example, the united nations, international organizations, gallop reports, etc.

What type of exhibit? Are you looking at historical data? current data? How long of a set? Are you needing surveys?

Where would this data be published? reports (by for-profit), gallop surveys (by governments or a non-profit), statistical publications (typically by organizations)? Original research (typically in journal articles)?

Core Databases

Relevant Guides