CMU LibGuides: English: 76-10X Series (First-Year Writing): Science Fiction

From the library catalog

Here are some sample results from our library catalog, based on the strategies above:

An Asimov Companion by Donald E. Palumbo; C. W. Sullivan III (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780786498239
Publication Date: 2016-04-21
The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction Movies by C. J. Henderson; William Shatner (Foreword by) "The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction Movies is the most complete reference available on the subject. Written by a noted film reviewer and journalist
Call Number: FA-REF-4 (Arts Reference Hunt 4th Floor) ; PN1995.9 .S26 H38 2001
ISBN: 0816040435
Publication Date: 2001-06-01
Internet Horror, Science Fiction and Fantasy Television Series, 1998-2013 by Vincent Terrace This is the first ever compilation on Internet television and provides details of 405 programs from 1998 to 2013. Each entry contains the storyline, descriptive episode listings, cast and crew lists, the official website and comments. An index of personnel and programs concludes the book. From Barry the Demon Hunter to Time Traveling Lesbian to Hamilton Carver, Zombie P.I., it is a previously undocumented entertainment medium that is just now coming into focus. Forty-eight photos accompany the text.
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781476616452
Publication Date: 2014-05-05
The Science Fiction Handbook by Nick Hubble (Editor); Aris Mousoutzanis (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781472538970
Publication Date: 2013-11-28

EXHIBIT, ARGUMENT, & METHOD SOURCES

These sources are more likely to be journals, specialized books, or primary sources like documentaries. These can be found in databases. Think about the type of information you need and ask yourself:

Who might publish that information? For example, datasets on conflict are typically collected by organizations that have an interest in collecting this information: for example, the united nations, international organizations, gallop or poll reports, etc.
What type of exhibit? Are you looking at historical data? current data? How long of a set? Are you needing surveys?
Where would this data be published? reports (by for-profit), gallop surveys (by governments or a non-profit), statistical publications (typically by organizations)? Original research (typically in journal articles)?

Core Databases

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Articles in academic journals from all disciplines. Database Guide.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new window
ca. 1750-present. Integrates 4 integrating four bibliographies— the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. Updated on a monthly basis, the database includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts, humanities, religion, education, science, and technology.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is SciVerse's leading full-text scientific database offering science, medical and technical (STM) journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and over 11,000 books. Content may be mined for noncommercial purposes using the ScienceDirect APIs. Please view the terms and conditions for more information and how to gain access. Or contact your liaison librarian for more information.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.

Relevant Guides

Physics: 33-120: Science and Science Fiction
by Matt Marsteller Last Updated Jan 4, 2024 127 views this year

English: 76-10X Series (First-Year Writing): Science Fiction

BACKGROUND SOURCES

Background Sources: To search for these sources, it's best to look for specific types of sources like encyclopedias, manuals, or even books.

For example, I might try to use Advanced Search to look in our library catalog by using one of the following searches:

[subject] contains Science Fiction AND [subject] contains Encyclopedias

[subject] Science Fiction AND [subject] handbooks

Here are some results worth looking at:

From the library catalog

Here are some sample results from our library catalog, based on the strategies above:

EXHIBIT, ARGUMENT, & METHOD SOURCES

These sources are more likely to be journals, specialized books, or primary sources like documentaries. These can be found in databases. Think about the type of information you need and ask yourself:

Who might publish that information? For example, datasets on conflict are typically collected by organizations that have an interest in collecting this information: for example, the united nations, international organizations, gallop or poll reports, etc.

What type of exhibit? Are you looking at historical data? current data? How long of a set? Are you needing surveys?

Where would this data be published? reports (by for-profit), gallop surveys (by governments or a non-profit), statistical publications (typically by organizations)? Original research (typically in journal articles)?

Core Databases

Relevant Guides