Starve and Immolate by
Tells the story of leftist political prisoners in Turkey who waged a deadly struggle against the introduction of high security prisons by forging their lives into weapons.
Food Security and Nutrition by
The persistence of an unacceptably high level of hunger and malnutrition worldwide presents a serious challenge to the world on the threshold of the third millenium. Although enough food is produced to feed mankind, about 840 million people go hungry; among them are 185 million pre-school children that are severely underweight for their age. Since an additional 80 million people have to be fed each year, achieving food security is a central global challenge, if not the most important development issue. The aim of the reader is to analyze actual problems in the field of food security and nutrition and to discuss present and future strategies to overcome hunger. Food security is a complex subject. In order to master this complexity, we distinguish between four dimensions of analyses: Theoretical-analytical, empirical-descriptive, normative-political, institutional. (Series: Spektrum. Berliner Reihe zu Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Politik in Entwicklungsländern/Berlin Series on Society, Economy and Politics in Developing Countries - Vol. 50)
Nutrition and Vulnerable Groups by
Food insecurity is a complex 'wicked' problem that results from a range of unstable and uncertain physical, social, cultural and economic factors that limits access to nutritious food. Globally, 800 million people are under-nourished, and around 2 billion are overweight/obese or have micronutrient deficiency. These populations are largely positioned in developing countries where disease burden is high and impacts health budgets and productivity. Similarly developed countries, cities and neighbourhoods are experiencing a greater emergence of vulnerable populations. This is in part explained by the change in the food production and manufacturing, the retraction in economic climates, the increase in food price, and in some regions reduced food availability and access.Vulnerable groups include but are not limited to migrant populations, Indigenous people, elderly, pregnant women, those with disability, homeless, young children and youth. Poor nutrition at significant periods of growth and development and during life impact long term health outcomes increasing non-communicable disease prevalence, health cost and reducing economic productivity.
The World Food Problem by
The fifth edition of The World Food Problem reflects nearly a decade of new research on the causes and potential solutions to the problems of producing and distributing food in developing countries. With extensively updated data and new case studies throughout, this edition includes new or expanded discussions of such issues as genetically modified food, the impact of climate change, the quality of agricultural land and water, the significance of globalization, and implications of changes in demographic policy, such as the reversal of China's "one-child rule." The result is an accessible, comprehensive text, as well as a provocative assessment of prospects for the future.
General Databases
Political & Policy Databases
A U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications. Useful for social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Includes thousands of U.S. data indicators for demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level.
Politico is an American political-journalism company based in Arlington County, Virginia, that covers politics and policy in the United States. POLITICO Pro was launched in February 2011 to provide ahead-of-the-curve reporting similar to the high-impact, high-velocity brand of journalism that made POLITICO Washington’s ultimate must read.
Pro currently provides coverage of multiple policy areas including: finance, energy, health care, technology, and transportation, and recently announced the addition of education, agriculture, and trade coverage to meet subscriber demand. Please note: Content from the Bill & Legislative Tracking section is not included in the subscription.
Information on election returns, congressional floor votes, Supreme Court decisions, plus presidential performance and economic indicators, as well as diverse demographics. Database has been retired and statistics are now incorporated into the DataPlanet database. Link redirects there.