Creating Personalities for Synthetic Actors by
Progress in computer animation has gained such a speed that, before long, computer-generated human faces and figures on screen will be indistinguishable from those of real humans. The potential both for scripted films and real-time interaction with users is enormous. However, in order to cope with this potential, these faces and figures must be guided by autonomous personality agents. This carefully arranged volume presents the state of the art in research and development in making synthetic actors more autonomous. The papers describe the different approaches and solutions developed by computer animation specialists, computer scientists, experts in AI, psychologists and philosophers, from leading laboratories world-wide. Finally, a bibliography comprising more than 200 entries enable further study.
Robots in Care and Everyday Life by
This open access book presents detailed findings about the ethical, legal, and social acceptance of robots in the German and European context. The key resource is the Bremen AI Delphi survey of scientists and politicians and a related population survey. The focus is on trust in robotic assistance, human willingness to use this assistance, and the expected personal well-being in human-robot interaction. Using recent data from Eurostat, the European Social Survey, and the Eurobarometer survey, the analysis is extended to Germany and the EU. The acceptance of robots in care and everyday life is viewed against their acceptance in other contexts of life and the scientific research. The book reports on how the probability of five complex future scenarios is evaluated by experts and politicians. These scenarios cover a broad range of topics, including the worst-case scenario of cutthroat competition for jobs, the wealth promise of AI, communication in human-robot interaction, robotic assistance, and ethical and legal conflicts. International economic competition alone will ensure that countries invest sustainably in the future technologies of AI and robots. But will these technologies also be accepted by the population? The book raises the core issue of how governments can gain the needed social, ethical, and user acceptance of AI and robots in everyday life. This highly topical book is of interest to researchers, professionals and policy makers working on various aspects of human-robot interaction. This is an open access book.
The International Dictionary of Artificial Intelligence by
"From assisted suicide and batter women to human trafficking and sex offenders, this guide provides an excellent overview of the state research on interpersonal violence. This set is highly recommended for academic libraries." -John R. M. Lawrence Interpersonal violence is behavior that intentionally threatens, attempts, or actually inflicts harm on another. This violence invades both the public and private spheres of our lives; many times in unexpected and frightening ways. Interpersonal violence is a problem that individuals could experience at any point during the life span-even before birth. Interpersonal violence is experienced not only throughout the life course but also as a global problem in the form of war, genocide, terrorism, and rape of women as a weapon of war. The Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence provides accurate, research-supported information to clarify critical issues and educate the public about different forms of interpersonal violence, their incidence and prevalence, theoretical explanations, public policy initiatives, and prevention and intervention strategies. These two volumes contain more than 500 accessible, jargon-fee entries written by experts and provide cross-references to related entries, as well as suggested readings for further information. Key Features Defines key concepts and explains theoretical principles clearly and succinctly Provides information on current data sets, regional and national organizations specializing in various dimensions of interpersonal violence, and relevant Web sites Serves as a quick reference guide to definitions, statistics, theories, policies, and prevention and intervention programs Discusses concern with interpersonal violence as a problem across the life span and across cultures Addresses careers in the many fields of interpersonal violence
Springer Handbook of Computational Intelligence by
The Springer Handbook for Computational Intelligence is the first book covering the basics, the state-of-the-art and important applications of the dynamic and rapidly expanding discipline of computational intelligence. This comprehensive handbook makes readers familiar with a broad spectrum of approaches to solve various problems in science and technology. Possible approaches include, for example, those being inspired by biology, living organisms and animate systems. Content is organized in seven parts: foundations; fuzzy logic; rough sets; evolutionary computation; neural networks; swarm intelligence and hybrid computational intelligence systems. Each Part is supervised by its own Part Editor(s) so that high-quality content as well as completeness are assured.
General Databases
The 76-10X Series research guides provide you with cross-disciplinary possibilities, so be sure to check other sections or topics out.
In addition, consider reviewing the following two guides:
The quality of your search and results depend on your search strategy: