Unions in a Changing World by
The trade union movement is facing a time of profound change throughout the world. But what is the nature and extent of these changes? And can appropriate solutions be found? The core of this thought-provoking book consists of reports from trade union confederations in eight countries--Australia, Germany, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, Sweden, the United Kingdom, and the United States. The book analyzes the changes that unions have been undergoing in order to adjust to economic, technological, and social changes. It discusses unions' internal structures and strategies, including improving efficiency, cooperation with other groups, research, special services, training, and public relations. It also examines the effects of an increasingly diverse workforce and changing attitudes toward work on union influence and members.
Are Unions Still Relevant? by
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics states that in 2016, 16.3 million American wage and salary workers were represented by a union. Statistics correlate that union workers are paid at least 200.00 dollars higher per week than non-union workers. Unions are specifically created and operated to protect the worker from unfair business practices, and improve the quality of life for workers. Conversely, some unions have such a stronghold on productivity numbers, that workers, once having met their quota for the day, can stop working. Big businesses view unions as friends or foe because of their power and ability to change the workplace on behalf of the worker's rights and desires. While sheer numbers of membership show that unions are relevant, there are several factors left to debate. This volume offers the full breadth of perspectives on unions, through eyewitness accounts, governmental views, scientific analysis, and newspaper accounts. Your readers will be able to use this one source as an excellent research tool. Main ideas are copied from the text and repeated as pull quotes so that readers can track the important facts as they are developing opinions on unions, writing reports, or otherwise.
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries by
Exploring narrative mapping in a wide range of literary works, ranging from medieval romance to postmodern science fiction, this volume argues for the significance of spatiality in comparative literary studies. Contributors demonstrate how a variety of narratives represent the changing social spaces of their world.
The Anthropology of Labor Unions by
The Anthropology of Labor Unions presents ethnographic data and analysis in eight case studies from several very diverse industries. It covers a wide range of topics, from the role of women and community in strikes to the importance of place in organization, and addresses global concerns with studies from Mexico and Malawu. Union-organized workplaces consistently afford workers higher wages and better pensions, benefits, and health coverage than their nonunion counterparts. In addition, women and minorities who belong to unions are more likely to receive higher wages and benefits than their nonunion peers. Given the economic advantages of union membership, one might expect to see higher rates of organization across industries, but labor affiliation is at an all-time low. What accounts for this discrepancy? The contributors in this volume provide a variety of perspectives on this paradox, including discussions of approaches to and findings on the histories, cultures, and practices of organized labor. They also address substantive issues such as race, class, gender, age, generation, ethnicity, health and safety concerns, corporate co-optation of unions, and the cultural context of union-management relationships. The first to bring together anthropological case studies of labor unions, this volume will appeal to cultural anthropologists, social scientists, sociologists, and those interested in labor studies and labor movements.
Search or browse resources on the American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. CMU does not have access to every collection in CQ Press. We have access to CQ Press Books, CQ Magazine, CQ Researcher, CQ Almanac, and Supreme Court Yearbook.
1923-present. Unbiased research reports on timely topics. Each report provides an introduction, overview, background, current situation, outlook chronology, pro/con, bibliography, etc. Keyword search for additional reports also show links to other relevant reports. Database Guide.
The annual yearbook of the American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy containing interdisciplinary research from some of the most distinguished and accomplished scholars in political and legal philosophy.
iPoll is a comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion. A full-text retrieval system, the iPoll online database is organized at the question level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys, 1935 to present. Surveys archived in the Roper Catalog were originally gathered by academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup Organization, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, and many more.