The Concise Encyclopedia of the Ethics of New Technologies by
The ethical assessment of new technologies raises two principal concerns: the need to develop effective policies and legislation, and the reconsideration of the ethical frameworks in which these policies and laws are developed. The importance of rapid, accurate examinations of tensions between Philosophy and Law and the relationship between philosophical principles and empirical data has never been greater. The Concise Encyclopedia of Ethics of New Technologies includes 23 articles previously published in the highly-acclaimed Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics, nine updated articles, and five new articles, commissioned especially for this volume. Over half of the previously published articles include updated facts and bibliographic citations. Authors of genetics articles have updated their works to include the most recent developments and publications. New articles include: "Cloning," "Geneticization," "Health Technology Assessment," "Intrinsic and Instrumental Value," and "Novel Foods." Articles fall into these subject categories: Medical Ethics; Scientific Ethics; Theories of Ethics; Environmental Ethics; Legal Ethics; Ethical Concepts
Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Technology by
Comprising 395 essays arranged alphabetically, mostly on individual objects, artefacts, techniques, and products, this is an up-to-date work of reference for all those involved in teaching or researching the history of twentieth-century technology. For a full list of entries, contributors, and more, visit the Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Technologywebsite.
Encyclopedia of Information Ethics and Security by
Rapid technological advancement in information processing and management has also created new ethical dilemmas and security challenges facing organizations and societies, while the development of appropriate ethical codes and security measures has failed to keep pace. This makes the education of computer users and professionals crucial. The Encyclopedia of Information Ethics and Security is the original, comprehensive reference source on ethical and security issues relating to the latest technologies. Covering a wide range of themes, this valuable reference tool includes topics such as computer crime, information warfare, privacy, surveillance, intellectual property and education. Over 150 contributors from 19 different countries, more than 700 key terms, their definitions, and 2,000 comprehensive references make this the most inclusive reference source on the topic of information ethics and security. A useful tool for academics, researchers, and educators, this encyclopedia is an invaluable resource for any library.
Academic and industry periodicals in all business disciplines. Also industry, company, and country reports.
Search or browse resources on the American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. CMU does not have access to every collection in CQ Press. We have access to CQ Press Books, CQ Magazine, CQ Researcher, CQ Almanac, and Supreme Court Yearbook.
1923-present. Unbiased research reports on timely topics. Each report provides an introduction, overview, background, current situation, outlook chronology, pro/con, bibliography, etc. Keyword search for additional reports also show links to other relevant reports. Database Guide.
For relevant resources, see also The Face of AI.