[subject] contains Prose AND [subject] contains theory
[subject] contains Contemporary Culture AND [subject] contains Encyclopedias
[subject] Andy Warhol AND [subject] Encyclopedias
[Subject] Pop Culture AND [subject] criticism
Here are some results worth looking at:
From the library catalog
Here are some sample results from our library catalog, based on the strategies above:
Prose Fiction by Ignasi RiboThis concise and highly accessible textbook outlines the principles and techniques of storytelling. It is intended as a high-school and college-level introduction to the central concepts of narrative theory - concepts that will aid students in developing their competence not only in analysing and interpreting short stories and novels, but also in writing them. This textbook prioritises clarity over intricacy of theory, equipping its readers with the necessary tools to embark on further study of literature, literary theory and creative writing. Building on a 'semiotic model of narrative, ' it is structured around the key elements of narratological theory, with chapters on plot, setting, characterisation, and narration, as well as on language and theme - elements which are underrepresented in existing textbooks on narrative theory. The chapter on language constitutes essential reading for those students unfamiliar with rhetoric, while the chapter on theme draws together significant perspectives from contemporary critical theory (including feminism and postcolonialism). This textbook is engaging and easily navigable, with key concepts highlighted and clearly explained, both in the text and in a full glossary located at the end of the book. Throughout the textbook the reader is aided by diagrams, images, quotes from prominent theorists, and instructive examples from classical and popular short stories and novels (such as Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice, Franz Kafka's 'The Metamorphosis, ' J. K. Rowling's Harry Potter, or Dostoyevsky's The Brothers Karamazov, amongst many others). Prose Fiction: An Introduction to the Semiotics of Narrative can either be incorporated as the main textbook into a wider syllabus on narrative theory and creative writing, or it can be used as a supplementary reference book for readers interested in narrative fiction. The textbook is a must-read for beginning students of narratology, especially those with no or limited prior experience in this area. It is of especial relevance to English and Humanities major students in Asia, for whom it was conceived and written.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2019-11-28
Signing the Body Poetic by Dirksen Bauman (Editor); Heidi Rose (Editor); Jennifer Nelson (Editor)This unique collection of essays, accompanied by videos, at last brings a dazzling view of the literary, social, and performative aspects of American Sign Language to a wide audience. The book presents the work of a renowned and diverse group of deaf, hard-of-hearing, and hearing scholars who examine original ASL poetry, narrative, and drama. The videos showcases the poems and narratives under discussion in their original form, providing access to them for hearing non-signers for the first time. Together, the book and videos provide new insight into the history, culture, and creative achievements of the deaf community while expanding the scope of the visual and performing arts, literary criticism, and comparative literature. The videos may be viewed online at ucpress.edu/go/signingthebodypoetic.
Call Number: Print & Online
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Staged Narrative by James BarrettThe messenger who reports important action that has occurred offstage is a familiar inhabitant of Greek tragedy. A messenger informs us about the death of Jocasta and the blinding of Oedipus, the madness of Heracles, the slaughter of Aigisthos, and the death of Hippolytus, among other important events. Despite its prevalence, this conventional figure remains only little understood. Combining several critical approaches--narrative theory, genre study, and rhetorical analysis--this lucid study develops a synthetic view of the messenger of Greek tragedy, showing how this role illuminates some of the genre's most persistent concerns, especially those relating to language, knowledge, and the workings of tragic theater itself. James Barrett gives close readings of several plays including Aeschylus's Persians, Sophocles' Electra and Oedipus Tyrannus, and Euripides' Bacchae and Rhesos. He traces the literary ancestry of the tragic messenger, showing that the messenger's narrative constitutes an unexplored site of engagement with Homeric epic, and that the role illuminates fifth-century b.c. experimentation with modes of speech. Breaking new ground in the study of Athenian tragedy, Barrett deepens our understanding of many central texts and of a form of theater that highlights the fragility and limits of human knowledge, a theme explored by its use of the messenger.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Romantic Poems, Poets, and Narrators by Joseph C. SittersonRomantic Poems, Poets, and Narrators will be valuable to specialists not only in romantic period studies but in literary theory and poetics as well. Students of Blake, Coleridge, Wordsworth, and Keats will appreciate these refreshingly subtle, tactful, and convincing new readings of the major romantic poems. The book is a scholarly and engaging guide to the various and complex discourses--formalist, psychoanalytic, deconstructive, new historicist--that have provided the terms in which these poems have been and currently are received.
Call Number: Print & Online
Publication Date: 2013-09-18
EXHIBIT, ARGUMENT, & METHOD SOURCES
These sources are more likely to be journals, specialized books, or primary sources like documentaries. These can be found in databases. Think about the type of information you need and ask yourself:
Who might publish that information? For example, datasets on conflict are typically collected by organizations that have an interest in collecting this information: for example, the united nations, international organizations, gallop or poll reports, etc.
What type of exhibit? Are you looking at historical data? current data? How long of a set? Are you needing surveys?
Where would this data be published? reports (by for-profit), gallop surveys (by governments or a non-profit), statistical publications (typically by organizations)? Original research (typically in journal articles)?
Search the full-text of handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books describing American attitudes towards family dynamics, gender roles, sexual relationships, and race relations.